LibGuides: Animal Ethics/Animal Rights/Animal Welfare: Journal Articles

Databases

Below are a number of databases that can be used to search for articles on animal ethics, animal rights, or animal welfare. If you need assistance with searching and using these resources please contact Andrea Kepsel, Animal Science Librarian, at akepsel@msu.edu.

Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. It covers the following fields: Botany, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Evolutionary ecology, Kinseology, Neurology, and Toxicology. Coverage from 1926 to the present. Web of Science platform.
CAB Abstracts
1910-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
1969-
FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering. Some 1800 publications in over 40 languages are scanned regularly, including journals, reviews, standards, legislation, patents, books, theses, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
PAIS International
Information in PAIS International and PAIS Archive covers topical public and social issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. Worldwide in geographic scope, PAIS International and PAIS Archive indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish that deal with public affairs.

PAIS Archive is a retrospective database supplementing PAIS International containing more than 1.2 million records covering the years 1915-1976.
Philosopher's Index
1940-
Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in books and journals in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.
PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES
Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.
PubMed (Medline)
1966-
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Note: Beginning June 1, 2021, users of NCBI services will need to login with their MSU Net ID instead of a NCBI-generated account. The NLM has more information about this change and how to link your existing NCBI account with your MSU Net ID. A Microsoft Word document containing step by step instructions is avaialble for download.
ScienceDirect
1995-
ScienceDirect (from Elsevier) provides access to the full text of over 2,000 journals, from 1995 to present (with extended coverage for some titles). It also contains electronic books. Coverage includes strong content in the physical sciences. Personalization options for table of contents alerts, saving searches, etc., are available.
Sociological Abstracts
1963- (abstracts from 1974-)
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Includes citations (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals;
- Draws information from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Electronic Journals

Full text articles are available electronically from the following journals. This is a select list and does not include all the journals on this topic that are available from the MSU Libraries.

Animal Cognition (1998-present)
An interdisciplinary journal offering current research from many disciplines (ethology, behavioral ecology, animal behavior and learning, cognitive sciences, comparative psychology and evolutionary psychology) on all aspects of animal (and human) cognition in an evolutionary framework.
Animal Welfare (1992-present)
Publishes the results of peer-reviewed scientific research, technical studies and reviews relating to the welfare of kept animals (eg on farms, in laboratories, zoos and as companions) and of those in the wild whose welfare is compromised by human activities.
Anthrozoos (1997-present)
A multidisciplinary journal on the interactions of people, animals, and environment.
The CQ Researcher (1923-present)
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Journal of Applied Animal Welfare Science (1998-present)
Publishes articles, commentaries, and brief research reports on methods of experimentation, husbandry, and care that demonstrably enhance the welfare of all nonhuman animals.
Learning and Behavior (1973-present)
Presents experimental and theoretical contributions and critical reviews concerning fundamental processes of learning and behavior in nonhuman and human animals.