AccessPhysiotherapy (APT) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies and crucial test prep. APT provides students and residents with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It allows for practicing physical therapists to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical textbooks, including Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention, 4e, and many others.
AccessPhysiotherapy: F.A. Davis AT Collection (FADAT) is an online athletic training and physical therapy resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies and professional preparation. FADAT provides students with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading texts to enhance decision-making. It allows for students to brush up on their physical therapy knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical textbooks, including Starkey’s Orthopedic & Athletic Injury Examination Handbook, 3e, and many others.
Explore extensive collections sourced from The National WWII Museum, New Orleans, to uncover the many facets of American involvement in the Second World War. From civilian experiences on the Home Front and military training in America to the Pacific campaigns, intervention in China, Burma and India, the D-Day landings in Europe and the post-war occupation of Germany, follow the stories of over 750 men and women through their letters, diaries, photographs, artefacts, and military records. Watch three hundred individuals share their memories and experiences in oral history videos recorded by the Museum. This digital resource shows how the war changed American society and the economy, how it impacted individuals and families, and the legacy of the war in human terms.
Access on the Gale platform to American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, providing digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This resource provides:
- Exclusive focus on American denominational newspapers during the age of religion
- More than 320 newspapers from 30-plus states, all published between 1799 and 1900
- Important commentary on such social issues as slavery, women’s suffrage and the Temperance movement
Bulk of material 1970–2016 -examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, organizations and key figures in LGBTIQ history, and countering the erasure of the stories and experiences of LGBTIQ people from official histories. Materials include the papers of Simon Nkoli, a prominent South African anti-apartheid, gay and lesbian rights, and HIV/AIDS activist; Exit newspaper (formerly Link/Skakel), South Africa’s longest-running monthly LGBT publication; Geographic Files, also known as “Lesbians in…” with coverage from Albania to Zimbabwe; and the largest available collection of Australian LGBTIQ periodicals.
BioCyc is a collection of 17,043 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them.
The BioCyc collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) provides a reference on the genomes and metabolic pathways of thousands of sequenced organisms. BioCyc PGDBs are generated by software that predict the metabolic pathways of completely sequenced organisms, predict which genes code for missing enzymes in metabolic pathways, and predict operons. BioCyc also integrates information from other bioinformatics databases, such as protein feature and Gene Ontology information from UniProt. The BioCyc website provides a suite of software tools for database searching and visualization, for omics data analysis, and for comparative genomics and comparative pathway questions.
Birds of the World (BOW) content is written by ornithologists all over the world and was amassed from four major celebrated works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World.
Provides access during COVID-19 campus closure to these print books purchased by MSU Libraries:
Achieving Sustainable Cultivation Of Apples
Achieving Sustainable Cultivation Of Grain Legumes; V. 1 and V. 2
Achieving Sustainable Cultivation Of Potatoes; V. 1; Breeding Improved Varieties
Achieving Sustainable Cultivation Of Potatoes; V. 2: Production, Storage, And Crop Protection
Achieving Sustainable Cultivation Of Rice; V. 2: Cultivation, Pest And Disease Management
Achieving Sustainable Cultivation Of Sorghum
Achieving Sustainable Cultivation Of Tree Nuts
Advances In Breeding Techniques For Cereal Crops
Agroforestry For Sustainable Agriculture
Assessing The Environmental Impact Of Agriculture
Critical Issues In Plant Health: 50 Years Of Research In African Agriculture
Improving Grassland And Pasture Management In Temperate Agriculture
Improving Organic Crop Cultivation
Precision Agriculture For Sustainability
Water Management For Sustainable Agriculture
Achieving Sustainable Production of Eggs, volumes 1-2
Achieving Sustainable Production of Milk, volumes 1-3
Achieving Sustainable Production of Pig Meat, volumes 1-3
Achieving Sustainable Production of Poultry Meat, volumes 1-3
Achieving Sustainable Production of Sheep
Advances in Breeding of Dairy Cattle
Improving Gut Health in Poultry
Improving Organic Animal Farming
Covidence is a systematic reviews production tool for title/abstract screening, full-text screening, data abstraction, and quality assessment. Covidence was designed by researchers familiar with the systematic review process in order to make conducting reviews more efficient. It is the primary screening and data extraction tool for Cochrane authors. It can be used for any kind of literature review that requires reproducible and reportable reviewing and screening procedures.
To access this tool please contact your subject librarian: Health Sciences Disciplines firstname.lastname@example.org; Social Sciences email@example.com; Psychology firstname.lastname@example.org; Education email@example.com - For other disciplines not listed please contact the Health Sciences Group.
For more information on systematic reviews, see http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/systematic_reviews
Requires personal login using msu.edu email address. To access this tool, please contact your subject librarian: Health Sciences Disciplines firstname.lastname@example.org; Social Sciences email@example.com; Psychology firstname.lastname@example.org; Education email@example.com.
For info on systematic reviews, see http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/systematic_reviews
**Now on the ProQuest interface**
EEBO, Early English Books Online, provides digital access to citations and facsimile full texts made from several microfilm sets. The works included were printed in England or other English-speaking places from the 1470s to 1700. The database may be searched by author, title, keywords, L.C. subject headings, imprint, date, type of illustration, film reel ID number, STC number, source library, language, or combination of these. There are browse indexes for authors' names, titles, and subject headings. Use these for best retrieval.
Some of the full text items in EEBO have been marked up so as to be searchable by individual words in their texts by the TCP, Text Creation Partnership Project, at the University of Michigan, which is supported by M.S.U. and other libraries. Use the EEBO TCP entry in MSU Libraries' Electronic Resources to access this version of the database. Here it is possible to enter modern spellings of words and retrieve words from ye olden days.
Not every item for which bibliographical details are present in EEBO has full text available here. In these cases, one must use the microfilm reel referred to in the entry by reel and position number. M.S.U. Libraries has the three microfilm sets mentioned: STC I, STC II, and the Thomason Tracts.
STC I (this is the call number) contains items printed up through 1640.
STC II (this is the call number) contains items printed from 1641-1700.
14458 (this is the call number) contains items in the Thomason Tracts, a set of broadsides from the English Civil War, 1640-1660.
The microforms are now located in the library's Remote Storage.
ESTC is a publicly available online bibliographical database containing library locations for the actual early printed works from the 1470s to 1800.
These are the printed bibliographies from which the film sets were made:
Pollard and Redgrave, Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640, Consulting Reference Z 2002 .A27 c. 2 and oversize Z 2002 .A27 1976.
Wing, Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700, Consulting Reference Z 2002 .W52 v. 1-3 and Main Z 2002 .W52 1994.
Thomason Tracts, 1640-1661..., Main Z 2018 .T49 1981.
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings is comprised of over 60 field collections from ethnomusicologists dating from the mid-twentieth century to the early twenty-first century. This resource also features material from the University of Washington Ethnomusicology Archive relating to prominent ethnomusicologist Robert Garfias.
The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments being played and in isolation.
This resource aims to represent a range of key food and drink history stories from the evolution of food within everyday life to haute cuisine, charting key issues around agriculture and food production, and looking into advertising histories of key food and drink brands. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status.
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Users will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
Immigrations, Migrations & Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996, a fully searchable digital archive, includes firsthand accounts from reputable sources around the world, covering such important events as post-World War Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, and much more.
E-access to the complete and unabridged diaries (1918-33 and 1945-59) of Victor Klemperer, a Jewish-born professor in Dresden in the 1920s and 1930s. Klemperer became a witness and chronicler of the increasing suppression of Jews during the Nazis’ rise to power.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library is the largest and most authoritative resource of in-copyright scores to support teaching and research in classical music. This multivolume series contains more than 53,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. More than 4,600 composers are included, from traditionally studied composers such as Mozart and Tchaikovsky to contemporary artists including Kaija Saariaho, Peter Maxwell-Davies, and John Tavener.
New Naratif provides up-to-date, in-depth journalism and research articles on Southeast Asia (including Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, and Vietnam).
Literary research, teaching and learning is evolving in exciting ways. Scholars are stepping beyond the Western canon to analyze diverse and lesser-known voices. Faculty are tapping multiple formats, like audio and video, to create immersive experiences for their students.
Developed in collaboration with faculty, scholars and librarians leading the call for a comprehensive literature resource, ProQuest One Literature is now the destination for all aspects of literature research, teaching and learning.
The Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive contains all obtainable Rafu Shimpo published issues from 1914 through 2018. Included is an institutional subscription to rafu.com that allows for full access to the present day. The archive will grow with additional year’s worth of content added annually.
Rafu Shimpo is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. By the 1940s it was the most widely circulated paper in the region and included a weekly English section for second generation Japanese Americans. The paper was forced to cease publication and its publisher was imprisoned by the government during World War II.
Research Source provides digital access to over 8 million pages of primary source materials selected from the extensive microfilm back catalogue of Adam Matthew Publications.
From Renaissance literature to 20th-century global politics, Research Source brings a vast and varied array of sources to students and researchers in eleven thematic modules, covering key subject areas and supporting multi-disciplinary research.
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. Organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics, this collection will include at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—
from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and
international polling firms with broad topical coverage of
opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture,
international affairs, and more. International and U.S.
datasets available for immediate download.
SAGE Research Methods Foundations provides a concise introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to that particular method. While a general search can provide an overwhelming number of results, SAGE Research Methods Foundations offers a targeted list of entries to guide users through the content. The navigation menu puts the entry in context, so users can easily find more general topics related to a method or continue on to more specific sub-topics. Each entry will give users a general understanding of the topic and help them focus their search for additional content if they wish to dive deeper.
The Science of Synthesis Database is structure, reaction, text, and field searchable and provides access to the full Science of Synthesis series, including the Houben-Weyl Archive, published from 1909 to-date.
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n. Classic SciFinder will be available through December 2019.
This collection integrates documentaries and news footage, archival materials, reports, government documents, and contextualizing essays on such topics as international issues such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and countertinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, nuclear threats, epidemics, biological weapons, and transnational organized crime.
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. Investigate the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and the public consciousness.
Shakespeare’s Globe Archive offers insights into performance practice in the particular space and playing conditions of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. In addition, it details the way in which the theatre was reconstructed as a place of radical theatrical experiment through which to examine the plays of William Shakespeare and others. The archive documents over 200 productions from 1997-2016 through prompt books, wardrobe notes, music, performance photographs, programmes, publicity and marketing material, research, show reports and architectural plans. This collection will be of great interest to anyone studying Shakespeare, theatre studies, early modern literature and cultural history.
SDGO is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including Taylor & Francis’ books and journals across all disciplines, themed around the SDGs. SDGO includes more than 12,000 carefully selected articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials, presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans from contributors across the world.
Ta Kung Pao was first published on June 17, 1902 in Tianjin. It has various editions in different cities (Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hankou, Hong Kong, and Guilin). In its prime time, it was simultaneously published in four different places in China. In 1941, Ta Kung Pao was voted the best foreign newspaper of the year by the Missouri School of Journalism. This database covers 1802-1949, and it is full-text searchable.
Global in scope, with coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, this archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.