Michigan State University

Database List

Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...

New & Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Aquaculture Compendium (AC) is an encyclopedic, mixed media resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support sound decision-making in aquaculture and aquatic resource management worldwide. It is comprised of information sourced from experts, and edited and compiled by an independent scientific organization. Existing information on aquaculture has been collated, evaluated, organized and presented as a single resource. Content includes cultured species datasheets, disease datasheets, around 120 overview topic essays, case studies, and a library of over 1,000 articles.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains over 25 works by French thinkers in translation, over 130 secondary works interpreting their works, thematic articles (on French feminism, critical phenomenology, decolonizing French philosophy, etc.), and biographical articles on 20 significant individuals.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, with entries by international authors, who provide thematic and topical entries and regional overviews. In addition, there are visual resources from U.K. Senate House Library, British Library, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art (NYC); 170 electronic books published by Bloomsbury, Tauris, Arc Humanities, and Amsterdam University Press; scholar contributed study resources, lesson plans, and commentaries on primary sources; and a timeline with a global focus.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The first module of Colonial Caribbean documents the history of British colonies throughout the Caribbean from early settlement to the eve of the Slavery Abolition Act passed in 1833. This module features volumes from The National Archives, UK sourced from 26 different Colonial Office (CO) series (sometimes referred to as file classes) which include material related to 27 Caribbean colonies.
All volumes dated between 1624 and 1832 within these series are included in Module 1. Also featured are selected volumes from the War Office (WO) at The National Archives, UK; volumes that are dated within this time period and covering the same 27 Caribbean colonies have been included.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Crop Protection Compendium is a time-saving, encyclopedic, mixed-media tool that draws together scientific information on all aspects of crop protection. It features extensive global coverage of pests, diseases, weeds and their natural enemies, the crops that are their hosts, and the countries in which they occur. Includes the Horizon Scanning Tool, a decision support aid that helps identify and categorize species that might enter a particular geographic area from another geographic area.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Classic and contemporary productions in live-capture and audio formats, many exclusive to Digital Theatre+, or brought to you from world-class partners such as Shakespeare’s Globe, BroadwayHD and the BBC.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Distribution Maps of Plant Pests cover important arthropod pests affecting agriculture, horticulture and forestry. Two sets of maps are produced each year, comprising mostly of new maps with a number of map revisions (where significant changes have merited a revision). There are nine pests per map set. By the end of 2018 the total number of different species mapped in the series was over 820. These figures do not include new editions, and many maps have been revised following changes to taxonomy or distribution, some a number of times.

This site contains the complete archive of the Distribution Maps as well as the very latest publications. The maps can be searched by preferred scientific name, or synonyms, and browsed by taxonomic group or by year. Typing ‘yr:2018’ in the search box will return all maps published in 2018.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
EEB Collection 12 offers 1,200 titles from the Bibliothèque nationale in Paris, on topics of history and governance drawn from works published across France, from the earliest incunabula to items dating from the late 17th century.
Early European Books Collection 16 presents a generous and insightful survey of French culture during the early modern period through a selection of printed items drawn from the holdings of the Bibliothèque nationale de France in Paris.
Early European Books Collection 17 follows on from the previous collection's broad survey of the early modern French cultural scene by delivering a more specific focus on the theme of Statecraft and Law.
Early European Books Collection 18 extends its coverage of content from the BnF in Paris through a selection drawn entirely from the Bibliothèque de l'Arsenal, a historic repository first made part of the French national library in 1934. Featuring over 900 individual items and more than 500,000 pages of content dedicated to the theme of history and chronicles, Collection 18 provides privileged access to the Arsenal's wealth of treasures in this area.
EEB Collection 19 offers 1,000 titles about travel and journeys to Africa, the Americas, Asia, and many parts of Europe. All works in the EEB series were published in 1700 or earlier.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Early Modern Books (EMB) is both a search engine for, and a full text database of, works in Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Early European Books (EEB). EEBO contains works printed in England or other English-speaking places, 1450-1700. EEB contains works printed on the Continent of Europe, 1450-1700. Full texts are only viewable for the parts of the database that we own, which is all EEBO, including EEBO TCP, but only a small amount of EEB (module 12, French history/governance; module 16, French culture in the early modern period; module 17, French statecraft and law; module 18, history and chronicles; module 19, voyages and travels). Choose advanced search. Search by author, title, L.C. subject heading, USTC broad subject classification, publisher, publisher city, or source library. Limit by date of printing, language, or certain features within the publication (such as maps or portraits). Include variant spellings or not. Use the browse indexes for best retrieval.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Forestry Compendium is a unique global compilation of knowledge on forestry. It has a comprehensive, worldwide coverage on tropical, subtropical, temperate and boreal tree species of major economic importance, and lesser-known species of local importance. It also covers in detail many of the pests that damage these trees. It is a reference tool, which provides a basis for informed selection of woody species for a variety of uses, including for trials in plantation, agroforestry and natural forest systems.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Explore America’s transformative age of industrialization, expanding wealth, inequality and social change. Material has been sourced from institutions across the United States. The bulk of the material ranges from 1870-1920, which most historians agree as the time span of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era, with some personal collections continuing later into the twentieth century. Collections range from papers of key industrial corporations, charities, influential families and cultural institutions, to rich visual content in the form of political cartoons, photographs and ephemera.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Horticulture Compendium is a comprehensive, encyclopedic resource for information on horticultural food crops. It includes authoritative datasheets providing global coverage of temperate, tropical and subtropical horticultural food crops. It also includes chapter-like datasheets written by international experts on key topics of interest to the horticultural community. The datasheets are enhanced with images, a bibliographic database, full text articles and data from specialist organizations. New datasheets and datasets continue to be added, reviewed and updated. The Compendium does NOT include: cut flowers / grasses / ornamental plants / landscaping and gardening.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Interwar Culture Module I contains popular periodicals, and some literary writings, from the 1920s in Britain and the United States about arts, culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, current world affairs, and social and welfare issues. The materials come from the British Library, Liverpool John Moores University, Future PLC (a British media company), the Newberry Library (Chicago), and New York Public Library.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes over 720 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
TDM Studio is a text and data mining (TDM) solution that allows users to text mine newspapers, scholarly journals, dissertations, and other content available through MSU’s ProQuest subscriptions.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Bethlem Royal Hospital is a psychiatric facility in London which began caring for the mentally ill in the 14th century. Contains 130,000 images of records dating from 1559-1932, including voluntary and criminal admission registers, discharge and death registers, male and female patient casebooks, minutes of the Court of Governors, and staff salary books. Handwritten items have been transcribed. Useful for studying mental health care in the past.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 1845-2015.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Designed as a tool to support students of the humanities and social sciences, Research Methods Primary Sources introduces the key approaches to working with source materials and historical evidence. Includes nearly 200 essays, videos, "How to" guides and case studies by subject specialists. From guidance on locating historical documents, to the questions on how best to approach analyzing the content they hold, this platform gathers together practical advice and instruction from experts working around the world.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Teaches the fundamentals of data and design necessary to create impactful data visualizations using video tutorials, text entries, and practice datasets.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Select "Business & Management" from the Discipline drop-down on the top banner of the SAGE Video site.

Includes in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The TCG Books Play Collection will offer 200 plays from TCG Books, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America. TCG Books’ backlist consists of diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The collection is exclusive to Drama Online and has launched with 110 titles. It will complete with a further 90 in Fall 2022.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
With parts I & II spanning 1482-1899 and 1900-2010 respectively, the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) digital archive contains more than 150,000 maps, charts and atlases complemented by manuscripts, field notes, expedition reports, scrapbooks, correspondence, diaries, illustrations, and sketches.

The archive is representative of the world’s largest private collection of maps and charts, along with atlases, globes, world gazetteers, and original manuscript mapping dating back to the 1400s that is held in the Society building in London. Some of the most influential geographers of the last two centuries have contributed to the collection.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The documents in this collection form a subset of the World Council of Churches archives dating from 1932 to 1957.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Michigan State University