Michigan State University

Database List

Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...

New & Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Journal articles and reports covering aeronautics and Space Sciences during the second half of the 20th century.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram is one of the most prominent Arabic-language newspapers from the Middle East and North Africa, including its legacy as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential national daily. Al-Ahram Digital Newspaper Archive contains full-image/full-text content, with full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text, including text within advertisements. Contains all obtainable published issues from 1875 to 2018, with an additional year’s worth of content added on an annual basis.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Encompasses three distinct archival collections: Archives of the Presbyterian Church in Cuba (Iglesia Presbiteriana-Reformada en Cuba, IPRC); Archive of the Evangelical Theological Seminary of Cuba (Seminario Evangélico Teológico, Matanzas, Cuba, SETC); and Archive of the Christian Student Movement of Cuba (Movimiento de Estudiantes Cristianos de Cuba, MECC), an affiliate of the World Student Christian Federation.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
Trial
Includes content in the areas of Architecture, Visual Art, Design / Fashion / New Media, Film and Cinema, Media and Television, Music, Performing art, Performance Art, Photography, and Theatre.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
Trial
BAS Library, from the Biblical Archaeology Society, contains full text access to all issues, back to 1975, of the periodical Biblical Archaeology Review Main/PRR BS 620 .A1 B52. This periodical covers both the Old and New Testaments of the Bible and presents the latest discoveries and controversies in Biblical archaeology visually, with maps and diagrams, in articles by top scholars, leading researchers, and world-renowned experts in this field, in a nonsectarian way. The database also offers links to videos, all content from Archaeology Odyssey, 1998-2006, all content from Bible Review, 1985-2005, links to books the BAS publishes jointly with the Smithsonian Institution, and links to additional articles chosen by the BAS staff. This is more content than offered via ProQuest, http://magic.msu.edu/record=b4899377.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains market research reports on topics in these industries: life sciences, materials, sensors, energy and the environment, and commerce including technology, manufacturing, finance and more.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
BioCyc is a collection of 17,043 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Birds of the World (BOW) content is written by ornithologists all over the world and was amassed from four major celebrated works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Journal articles and reports covering the earth sciences, environmentalism, and sustainability during the second half of the 20th century.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Journal articles and reports covering computing and machine intelligence during the second half of the 20th century.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volumes I and II, is a unique online series that lets students and researchers peer deeply into the client-therapist relationship and follow the progress—and the setbacks—of clients across multiple therapy sessions. This multi-part collection includes nearly 4,000 transcripts of real therapy sessions, 40,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of reference works. Together, these materials bring the therapeutic process to life and provided unprecedented levels of access to the broadest range of clients.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
This collection of sources provides insight into two centuries of everyday political, religious, working, trading and administrative life in Early Modern England. Documentation such as legal records, family papers, annotated printed books, commonplace books, and wills, offer a window through which to study overlooked members of society during this period - shedding light on what life was like for the ‘ordinary’ person. Materials are sourced from a range of archives including The National Archives, UK, the British Library, Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, and the Newberry Library.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
This resource aims to represent a range of key food and drink history stories from the evolution of food within everyday life to haute cuisine, charting key issues around agriculture and food production, and looking into advertising histories of key food and drink brands. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Cold War in the Pacific, Trade Relations, and the Post-Independence Period Sourced from The National Archives, UK, this collection of British Foreign Office Files provides significant insight into the shifting political landscape of Southeast Asia from 1963-1980. Materials cover topics such as the formation of Malaysia, tensions between Indonesia and Malaysia, internal
conflict, and development of trade and foreign policy.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
To access the Archive, it is necessary to create a personal account. Please see http://fortunoff.library.yale.edu/archive/search/ for details on this process.

The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New Trial
Geofacets offers over 1.9 million maps, figures, tables and GIS shapefiles sourced from and supplementing scholarly publications. A read-only PDF of every source article is included for added context.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains Human Kinetics’ sports and physical activity content, featuring over 150 ebooks and 200 videos.
  • This resource is available to all users.
New
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Users will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
E-access to the complete and unabridged diaries (1918-33 and 1945-59) of Victor Klemperer, a Jewish-born professor in Dresden in the 1920s and 1930s. Klemperer became a witness and chronicler of the increasing suppression of Jews during the Nazis’ rise to power.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies is a database curated by an international board of advisors and part of the Global Issues Library. Organized around a selection of key historical and contemporary events and mixing a case and thematic approach, this resource will look at the history of incarceration not only in the United States but also globally. The main themes and events related to mass incarceration and the history of prisons are easily explored by providing multiple perspectives and points of entries: court cases; prison experience: first-hand accounts; law and government documents; rehabilitation; training materials; policing and law; prison and identity, and theory.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
An essential resource for the study of late twentieth-Century British social history, Mass Observation, Module I: 1980s comprises directives (questionnaires) and their responses sent out between 1981 to 1989 by the Mass Observation Project - a pioneering social research organisation. Directive responses provide insight into the opinions of the general public on key topics such as the Falklands War, general elections, the government’s AIDS-awareness campaign, and the European Economic Community (EEC).
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Journal articles and reports covering ethics and the life sciences during the second half of the 20th century.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Music Online: Classical Scores Library is the largest and most authoritative resource of in-copyright scores to support teaching and research in classical music. This multivolume series contains more than 53,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. More than 4,600 composers are included, from traditionally studied composers such as Mozart and Tchaikovsky to contemporary artists including Kaija Saariaho, Peter Maxwell-Davies, and John Tavener.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
This collection makes available the John Murray archive held at the National Library of Scotland. One of the most important surviving publishing archives, the John Murray company published authors
who shaped the modern world through their writings, including Darwin, Austen, and Livingstone. The archive includes material on publishing history, book history, travel writing, politics and poetry, and also holds the most complete archival collection of the famed poet, Lord Byron.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Journal articles and reports covering the development and use of nuclear energy during the second half of the 20th century.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
A database of 30,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
This multi-archive collection, including content from the London Metropolitan Archives and Senate House Library, comprises a wealth of primary source material, such as administrative records,
which detail the intricacies of the workhouse systems, and publications of settlement houses which document how hardships were alleviated through charitable efforts. Material focusing on philanthropic endeavors gives insight into the shift in social conditions and welfare reform in the period, as care for
the poor and general public health conditions developed.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Includes maps for California, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Washington, and the District of Columbia.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Literary research, teaching and learning is evolving in exciting ways. Scholars are stepping beyond the Western canon to analyze diverse and lesser-known voices. Faculty are tapping multiple formats, like audio and video, to create immersive experiences for their students.

Developed in collaboration with faculty, scholars and librarians leading the call for a comprehensive literature resource, ProQuest One Literature is now the destination for all aspects of literature research, teaching and learning.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Public Health: Global Origins of Modern Health Policy and Management is a fully searchable digitized collection that captures international failures and successes, offering valuable insight for students and researchers in a variety of disciplines. Topics addressed include environmental pollution, developing vaccines and birth control, funding the World Health Organization, educating people about food safety and water quality, preparing regions for natural and other disasters, and much more.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive contains all obtainable Rafu Shimpo published issues from 1914 through 2018. Included is an institutional subscription to rafu.com that allows for full access to the present day. The archive will grow with additional year’s worth of content added annually.

Rafu Shimpo is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. By the 1940s it was the most widely circulated paper in the region and included a weekly English section for second generation Japanese Americans. The paper was forced to cease publication and its publisher was imprisoned by the government during World War II.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
See this guide for information on how to access and use these datasets.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
SAGE Research Methods Foundations provides a concise introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to that particular method. While a general search can provide an overwhelming number of results, SAGE Research Methods Foundations offers a targeted list of entries to guide users through the content. The navigation menu puts the entry in context, so users can easily find more general topics related to a method or continue on to more specific sub-topics. Each entry will give users a general understanding of the topic and help them focus their search for additional content if they wish to dive deeper.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Retrospective Government Gazettes Archive contains all South African Government Gazettes from 1910 to 1993.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Stahl Online is a comprehensive and regularly updated ebook collection, providing full access to the entire current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr Stahl. It is a one-stop shop, covering everything a doctor, teacher or trainee will ever need to know about neuropsychopharmacology.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
SDGO is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including Taylor & Francis’ books and journals across all disciplines, themed around the SDGs. SDGO includes more than 12,000 carefully selected articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials, presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans from contributors across the world.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
More than half of America’s states began as territories. From the 1760s to the 1950s the United States of America expanded southward and westward, acquiring territories that spanned from Florida to California to Alaska. Before they evolved into twenty-seven American states, these territories were managed by the U.S. State and Interior departments. The official history of their formative territorial years is recorded in the “Territorial Papers of the United States”—a collection of Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.

Since the series was launched it has continued to offer new books each year for students and scholars, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Michigan State University