The Aquaculture Compendium (AC) is an encyclopedic, mixed media resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support sound decision-making in aquaculture and aquatic resource management worldwide. It is comprised of information sourced from experts, and edited and compiled by an independent scientific organization. Existing information on aquaculture has been collated, evaluated, organized and presented as a single resource. Content includes cultured species datasheets, disease datasheets, around 120 overview topic essays, case studies, and a library of over 1,000 articles.
The first module of Colonial Caribbean documents the history of British colonies throughout the Caribbean from early settlement to the eve of the Slavery Abolition Act passed in 1833.
This module features volumes from The National Archives, UK sourced from 26 different Colonial Office (CO) series (sometimes referred to as file classes) which include material related to 27 Caribbean colonies.
All volumes dated between 1624 and 1832 within these series are included in Module 1. Also featured are selected volumes from the War Office (WO) at The National Archives, UK; volumes that are dated within this time period and covering the same 27 Caribbean colonies have been included.
The Crop Protection Compendium is a time-saving, encyclopedic, mixed-media tool that draws together scientific information on all aspects of crop protection. It features extensive global coverage of pests, diseases, weeds and their natural enemies, the crops that are their hosts, and the countries in which they occur. Includes the Horizon Scanning Tool, a decision support aid that helps identify and categorize species that might enter a particular geographic area from another geographic area.
Classic and contemporary productions in live-capture and audio formats, many exclusive to Digital Theatre+, or brought to you from world-class partners such as Shakespeare’s Globe, BroadwayHD and the BBC.
Distribution Maps of Plant Pests cover important arthropod pests affecting agriculture, horticulture and forestry. Two sets of maps are produced each year, comprising mostly of new maps with a number of map revisions (where significant changes have merited a revision). There are nine pests per map set. By the end of 2018 the total number of different species mapped in the series was over 820. These figures do not include new editions, and many maps have been revised following changes to taxonomy or distribution, some a number of times.
This site contains the complete archive of the Distribution Maps as well as the very latest publications. The maps can be searched by preferred scientific name, or synonyms, and browsed by taxonomic group or by year. Typing ‘yr:2018’ in the search box will return all maps published in 2018.
Two sets are available. EEB Collection 12 offers 1,200 titles from the Bibliothèque nationale in Paris, on topics of history and governance drawn from works published across France, from the earliest incunabula to items dating from the late 17th century. EEB Collection 19 offers 1,000 titles about travel and journeys to Africa, the Americas, Asia, and many parts of Europe. All works in the EEB series were published in 1700 or earlier.
The Forestry Compendium is a unique global compilation of knowledge on forestry. It has a comprehensive, worldwide coverage on tropical, subtropical, temperate and boreal tree species of major economic importance, and lesser-known species of local importance. It also covers in detail many of the pests that damage these trees. It is a reference tool, which provides a basis for informed selection of woody species for a variety of uses, including for trials in plantation, agroforestry and natural forest systems.
Explore America’s transformative age of industrialization, expanding wealth, inequality and social change. Material has been sourced from institutions across the United States. The bulk of the material ranges from 1870-1920, which most historians agree as the time span of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era, with some personal collections continuing later into the twentieth century. Collections range from papers of key industrial corporations, charities, influential families and cultural institutions, to rich visual content in the form of political cartoons, photographs and ephemera.
The Horticulture Compendium is a comprehensive, encyclopedic resource for information on horticultural food crops. It includes authoritative datasheets providing global coverage of temperate, tropical and subtropical horticultural food crops. It also includes chapter-like datasheets written by international experts on key topics of interest to the horticultural community. The datasheets are enhanced with images, a bibliographic database, full text articles and data from specialist organizations. New datasheets and datasets continue to be added, reviewed and updated. The Compendium does NOT include: cut flowers / grasses / ornamental plants / landscaping and gardening.
Designed as a tool to support students of the humanities and social sciences, Research Methods Primary Sources introduces the key approaches to working with source materials and historical evidence. Includes nearly 200 essays, videos, "How to" guides and case studies by subject specialists. From guidance on locating historical documents, to the questions on how best to approach analyzing the content they hold, this platform gathers together practical advice and instruction from experts working around the world.