LibGuides: Business Career Research: Find Information on business career fields

Find Information on business career fields

Business News

Analyst Reports

Mergent Investext This link opens in a new window

Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window

Ask a Business Librarian

Gast Business Library
Michigan State University
Law College Building
648 N. Shaw Lane, Room 50
East Lansing, MI 48824-1300
(517) 355-3380

Company Research

Interview Preparation

These resources will help you research a company or industry in depth and prepare you for an interview.

An interviewer may ask how you perceive the company's position in its industry, who the firm's competitors are, what its competitive advantages are, or how the company should best move forward.

Use this guide and the resources within to explore jobs, prepare your answers and inform your questions.

MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to D&B's Hoover's private and public U.S and international company data. It also contains a directory of U.S. consumers, industry profiles, and more.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Provides information and financials for over 650,000 private companies, over 100,000 private market deals and venture capital funding, and over 18,000 private market investors.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies (~35,000 public companies and ~23 million private companies) , including SEC filings (US only) and current and historical annual reports
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for local, regional and national newspapers in the United States. Strong source for legal, company, and country research.

See our Company Research Guide for more database options.

Industry Research

In addition to researching the company, you should also research the industry within which it operates. This will give you a sense of the competitive landscape and will help you speak to trends and opportunities facing the company and its competitors.

MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides readable high level analysis for industries from the United States, some US states, worldwide, and in Canada and China. Includes supply chain, market share, and ease of entry industry data.
Mergent First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides basic US and global industry reports with a market analysis including competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more. It also contains state profiles, sales and marketing communications templates, and an industry prospector which ranks industries based on certain characteristics.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Particularly helpful for those seeking employment abroad. Passport provides country specific industry information, as well as consumer lifestyle trends and business dynamics.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains market research reports from Freedonia Focus and Kalorama Information. Freedonia covers over eighteen industry categories including automotive, chemicals, industrial components, energy, pharmaceuticals, plastics, and electronics. Kalorama covers the life sciences industry (topics include pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical devices and diagnostics).
Formerly Freedonia Focus
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. The reports analyze market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics. Also, has new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. ***Formerly: Mintel Academic Reports and Mintel GNPD***

See our Industry Research Guide for more database options.

Career Insights

Going Global This link opens in a new window
This resource provides country-specific career guides, city-specific career guides for large cities in the US and Canada, job and internship postings, H-1B information and an employer directory.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Provides career profiles that describes the typical duties performed by the occupation, the work environment of that occupation, the typical education and training needed to enter the occupation, the median pay for workers in the occupation, and the job outlook over the coming decade for that occupation.
Career OneStop
Discover comprehensive occupation, industry, and state profiles. Industry profiles include employment and wage trends at the national, state, metropolitan, and county levels.
ClimbtheLadder
In-Depth career profiles for every industry and job. This includes information on job duties, salary, requirements, trends, outlook and more.

MSU Career Services

MSU Career Services Website
MSU Connect
Russell Palmer Career Management Center
Broad's career center advises, coaches and educates students to realize their career aspirations, while working with leading employers and alumni to send our Spartans across the world.

Business Internships/Jobs

Handshake
Handshake is MSU’s online career management platform that connects MSU students with employers and alumni. Apply directly to job/ internship opportunities, sign-up for on-campus interviews and find company and Russell Palmer Career Management Center events and resources. Complete your profile and upload your resume.
Broad Education Abroad International Internships
You can search by Program Type: International Internship

Going Global This link opens in a new window
This resource provides country-specific career guides, city-specific career guides for large cities in the US and Canada, job and internship postings, H-1B information and an employer directory.

Indeed Internship Filter
When you pick a geographic area and search on a job function or area, you can limit your results by Job Type: Internship.

MSU Libraries

William C. Gast Business Library

Business Career Research