Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 201 (Fernandez): Immigration and Racial Formation in the 20th Century: Statistics

Contents

Suggested statistical sources.  Statistical information can be found in many sources, both print and online. Given the necessary time for a book to come to press the most recent information is likely to be found online. Note, as well, statistical sources cited in background and reference sources you consult.

Key Organizations

International Organization on Migration (IOM)
IOM works to help ensure the orderly and humane management of migration, to promote international cooperation on migration issues, to assist in the search for practical solutions to migration problems and to provide humanitarian assistance to migrants in need, including refugees and internally displaced people.

UN High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR)
The UNHCR is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide. Its primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees.

  • Publications - UNHCR publishes a wide range of materials ranging from basic documents to refugee and international law reports and research and evaluation papers. The agency's worldwide operations are covered in the two flagship annual publications - The Global Appeal and Global Report.
  • Statistics - This page provides data, trends, an interactive data visualization platform and statistical reports on the people of concern to UNHCR: refugees, asylum seekers, returned refugees, internally displaced and stateless people around the world.

Major Statistical Reference Sources

 

ProQuest Statistical Insight. 1973-present. Provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. Institutions can subscribe to the entire collection or to selected modules.

Pew Research Center - A non-partisan public opinion polling and demographic research organization. Includes public opinion polls on immigration.

U.S. Census Bureau Immigration Data - The U.S. Census Bureau provides a variety of demographic, social, economic, geographic, and housing information on the foreign-born population in the United States.

 

U.S. Statistical Sources

Congressional Research Guide to Internet Resources on Immigration.

Statistical yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (online, print, and microfiche resources).  The Centennial Year Edition (1990) of the Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, U.S. Department of Justice, INS, 1990, contains an Appendix I giving a history of major pieces of legislation regarding immigration and a brief summary of the purpose and intent of the legislation.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services website

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services History Office and Library Catalog

U.S. Census Portal

U.S. Census Bureau Immigration Data - The U.S. Census Bureau provides a variety of demographic, social, economic, geographic, and housing information on the foreign-born population in the United States.

Michigan State University