Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Education Research: Databases/Articles

main guide for education research and resources for the COE

Trouble Accessing E-Resources?

Call or email Discovery Services if you need help with:

  • article & book requests
  • problems accessing online journals, e-books, databases, etc

(517) 353 - 8700

reachout@msu.edu

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is good for:

  • beginning researchers who need help finding journal titles and authors
  • finding obscure references
  • citation tracking

It is limited because it cannot:

  • search by discipline
  • limit or filter search results

Google also does not release the names of the publishers or journal titles the results come from.   

It is an imprecise search tool, particularly when compared to the discipline specific databases available through the library.  

Databases

Searching Ebsco DBs

The main education databases are all EBSCO products which means you can search them all at once with a little finagling!  Click on one above (Education Source, for example) and then click "choose databases". A screen with all the EBSCO databases we have will pop up.  Scroll down to the Es and select the education ones you want.  To be thorough, choose all 5.  Happy searching!

How to Access E-Resources

The video below shows how to access journal articles and other electronic resources through the library if you have trouble.  

How to access journal articles, ebooks, and databases if you are based off campus for Spring 2020.

Direct link to "Remote Library Access" on MSU Mediaspace

Video credit: Emilia Marcyk

Michigan State University