Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Companion to Development Studies, Third Ed. by The Companion to Development Studies contains overnbsp;a hundrednbsp;chapters written by leading international experts within the field to provide a concise and authoritative overview of the key theoretical and practical issues dominating contemporary development studies. Covering a wide range of disciplines the book is divided into ten sections, each prefaced by a section introduction written by the editors. The sections cover: the nature of development, theories and strategies of development, globalization and development, rural development, urbanization and development, environment and development, gender, health and education, the political economy of violence and insecurity, and governance and development. This third edition has been extensively updated and contains 45 new contributions from leading authorities, dealing with pressing contemporary issues such as race and development, ethics and development, BRICs and development, global financial crisis, the knowledge based economy and digital divide, food security, GM crops, comparative urbanism, cities and crime, energy, water hydropolitics, climate change, disability, fragile states, global war on terror, ethnic conflict, legal rights to development, ecosystems services for development, just to name a few. Existing chapters have been thoroughly revised to include cutting-edge developments, and to present updated further reading and websites. The Companion to Development Studies presents concise overviews providing a gateway to further reading and a flexible resource for teaching and learning. It has established a role as essential reading for all students of development studies, as well as those in cognate areas of geography, international relations, politics, sociology, anthropology and economics.
Call Number: HD75 .C655 2014 Online
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
An Introduction to Sustainable Development, Third ed. by This third edition of a successful, established text provides a concise and well-illustrated introduction to the ideas behind, and the practices flowing from the notion of sustainable development.
Call Number: HC59.72.E5 E43 2006 Online
Publication Date: 2006-04-11
From Poverty to Power: how active citizens and effective states can change the world, 2nd ed. by This new edition of From Poverty to Power has been fully revised and now includes a new chapter with an in-depth analysis of the human impact of the global financial and food crises. From Poverty to Power argues that a radical redistribution of power, opportunities, and assets rather than traditional models of charitable or government aid is required to break the cycle of poverty and inequality. The forces driving this transformation are active citizens and effective states. Why active citizens? Because people living in poverty must have a voice in deciding their own destiny and holding the state and the private sector to account. Why effective states? Because history shows that no country has prospered without a state structure that can actively manage the development process. There is now an added urgency: climate change. We need to build a secure, fair, and sustainable world within the limits set by scarce resources and ecological realities.Published in association with Oxfam GB.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012-11-15
Sustaining the Commons by
Call Number: HB171.5 Online
Publication Date: 2016
Click the access link in the record then download the entire book or access the ebook version.
The Companion to Development Studies, Second ed. by The Companion to Development Studies is an essential one-stop reference for anyone with an interest in development studies. Over 100 international experts have been brought together to present a comprehensive overview of the key theoretical and practical issues dominating contemporary development studies. Building on the success of the first edition, the second edition of the Companion has been thoroughly revised and updated and includes new chapters on a range of topics, including ageing, culture and development, corruption and development and global terrorism. Each chapter summarises current debates and provides guidance for further reading and research. The Companion to Development Studies is indispensable for students of development studies at all levels, from undergraduate to postgraduate and beyond, in departments of development studies, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology and economics.
Call Number: HD75 .C655 2008
Publication Date: 2008-02-29
Dependency and Development in Latin America by At the end of World War II, several Latin American countries seemed to be ready for industrialization and self-sustaining economic growth. Instead, they found that they had exchanged old forms of political and economic dependence for a new kind of dependency on the international capitalism of multinational corporations. In the much-acclaimed original Spanish edition (Dependencia y Desarrollo en América Latina) and now in the expanded and revised English version, Cardoso and Faletto offer a sophisticated analysis of the economic development of Latin America. The economic dependency of Latin America stems not merely from the domination of the world market over internal national and ?enclave? economies, but also from the much more complex interact ion of economic drives, political structures, social movements, and historically conditioned alliances. While heeding the unique histories of individual nations, the authors discern four general stages in Latin America's economic development: the early outward expansion of newly independent nations, the political emergence of the middle sector, the formation of internal markets in response to population growth, and the new dependence on international markets. In a postscript for this edition, Cardoso and Faletto examine the political, social and economic changes of the past ten years in light of their original hypotheses.
Call Number: HC125 .C34153
Publication Date: 1979-03-19
Possible alternatives - other editions
Introduction to International Development: approaches, actors, and issues, Second ed. by Introduction to International Development is a collection of original essays by leading experts from disciplines as varied as geography, history, sociology, political science, economics, women's studies, and anthropology. Contributed chapters present foundational overviews as well as in-depthcoverage of issues at the heart of today's most pressing international debates - from intensifying environmental threats as we near the expiry of the Kyoto Protocol to the ongoing social and political turmoil in Afghanistan. Fully updated and revised, this second edition features a new chapter onurban development and a new epilogue, along with a fresh, student-friendly design that is sure to engage students in the study of international development.
Call Number: HD82 .H327 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-23