"Commemorating the 25th anniversary of the UNESCO Recommendation for the Safeguarding and Preservation of Moving Images". Codifies the philosophical basis for audiovisual archiving. A revised edition of the Philosophy of Audiovisual Archiving published by UNESCO in 1998.
NEDCC is pleased to offer the Fundamentals of AV Preservation textbook for self-study to anyone with internet access. Covering the core topics in caring for and reformatting audiovisual collections, this resource supports cultural heritage professionals in their efforts to steward audiovisual materials.
"This book is for every archivist (or archivist-in-training) who has opened a box or file cabinet or otherwise unearthed some carrier of moving image and sound and has wondered what to do. You may have not recognized the format, you may have not known if it held video or audio, and you may have not known how to describe the item. It's even possible that you did not recognize it as a carrier of moving image and sound. Most archivists encounter and most archives contain some form of moving image and sound material. These can include recordings of events on video, oral histories captured on audiotape, and films created by independent filmmakers. Here's practical guidance on how to preserve and make accessible the moving image and sound record, from the most relevant legacy formats to born-digital formats."
Course description: This course provides an overview of the long-term care of audiovisual materials. Participants will learn the properties of the major categories of audiovisual materials, how to identify different media, and what their risk factors are. Building on this, the course will delve into working with audiovisual materials in an archival context, including storage, migration/digitization, and collection management. The basic properties of audiovisual files will be outlined, as well as different file formats and codecs for both popular use and for preservation. Overall, participants will gain an outline of audiovisual preservation tasks and issues, with reference to further tools and resources. In-class exercises and written assignments will focus on practical scenarios.
Fundamentals of AV Preservation was developed by AVPreserve and NEDCC and is supported in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities. Covering the core topics in caring for and reformatting audiovisual collections, this course prepares participants to be effective collections stewards for audiovisual materials.
This two part series is for small institutions with audiovisual collections and limited staff. Part One – Introduction is an overview of common media and formats likely to be found in mixed archival collections, with discussion of audiovisual collection management and sustainability.
This two part series is for small institutions with audiovisual collections and limited staff. Part Two – Digitization focuses on the digitization of analog materials, with considerations for using vendors vs. creating in-house stations, with a case example of a VHS setup. Care and maintenance of digital video and audio is also discussed.
This two part series is directed to families and individuals with audiovisual collections they wish to preserve. Part One – Introduction is an overview of personal archiving, with focus on common media formats likely to be found in the home and collection management strategies.
This two part series is directed to families and individuals with audiovisual collections they wish to preserve. Part Two – Digitization focuses on considerations families and individuals should make regarding sending out audiovisual material to be digitized vs. trying to do the work at home, with a case example of a MiniDV setup. Long-term care strategies are also discussed.
This project conducted by CARLI (The Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois) provides an overview of the work life of two different media preservation professionals in two separate institutions over the course of one year. The resultant publication provides a detailed, in-depth look at the ins and outs of media preservation work, and compares and contrasts media preservation conducted in environments that differ substantially in terms of budgeting and staffing.
By the Library of Congress (LOC). A succinct overview of audiovisual preservation procedures across a variety of formats, including grooved and optical discs, magnetic tape, and wax and plastic cylinders.
Series of five webinar recordings produced by FAIC Connecting to Collections Care. "Audiovisual collections can run the gamut of formats, from analog audio, film, and video to digital audio, film, video, and optical media. This five-part course will examine the various formats and explore the major issues and challenges in preserving them. A team of national experts will help you navigate the mind-boggling array of AV materials and provide practical advice on identifying, caring for, handling, storing, and accessing them. This course has concluded, but all of its materials from webinar recordings to handouts are available for viewing for free at your own pace."