LibGuides: HST 212: National Latin America: Find Sources

Start Searching

Navigating EDS (Our New Catalog System)

The library webpage looks pretty much the same, but the backend has changed. Here are some links to help you find what you need:

EDS FAQs: Look here first if you run into a problem! These are continually being updated as issues surface and are solved.

Two Minute Tips: These videos are made by the Teaching and Learning department at the library. They're all useful, but these are particularly useful for navigating the new system:

Listed below are a few key indexes. Many of the discipline-based indexes, and the large inter-disciplinary indexes such as Proquest and Social Sciences Abstracts, are international in scope and can be found on the Libraries' Databases page.

Prisma and HAPI Online are fully integrated indexes devoted to Latin American studies-- Prisma offers key titles that are indexed in HAPI Online and incorporates HAPI indexing directly into the database. They are produced by different providers using different search algorithms, so results differ. Try both!

HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
The Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index, HAPI Online indexes more than 500 social science and humanities journals with information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage from 1970 to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
PRISMA This link opens in a new window
An index to social science and humanities journal literature about Latin America, the Caribbean and U.S. Hispanic populations. More than 650 journals are indexed, with 200 titles currently available in full-text. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese and searches may also be conducted in all three languages.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1910-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Information in PAIS International and PAIS Archive covers topical public and social issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. Worldwide in geographic scope, PAIS International and PAIS Archive indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish that deal with public affairs.

PAIS Archive is a retrospective database supplementing PAIS International containing more than 1.2 million records covering the years 1915-1976.

InterLibrary Loan Services
If the book you want is checked out or if the MSU Libraries do not own it, try borrowing it from another library
MSU Libraries Home Page Search
The home page search allows users to search most of the library's article databases, the catalog, and the Libraries' web site all at the same time. Results are presented in a bento box style display.

E-books and E-readers at the MSU Libraries
by MSU Libraries Last Updated Nov 21, 2023 814 views this year

Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more.

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes.

Michigan eLibrary
Search the MeL Catalog for music, books, audio, and more!
National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) contains a large collection of recently declassified national security information, including material on U.S. relations with Cuba, El Salvador, Iran, Japan, Berlin, South Africa, etc.

Center for Research Libraries
"CRL is a consortium of North American research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery." Its collections contain over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, and government publications, with special strengths in foreign materials. In addition to its online catalog, utilize searchable special collections databases (foreign newspapers, foreign doctoral dissertations, etc.) as needed.

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

HST 212: National Latin America

Start Searching

Navigating EDS (Our New Catalog System)