LibGuides: Datasets and Resources: Economic/Business Data

Best Bets

The Researchers Dataset (RDS)
RDS is a set of averages of metics and data from the International Country Risk Guide tables for composite risk, political risk, financial risk, and economic risk from the PRS Group.
The World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database
The World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database contains time series data for the years 1960, 1965, 1970, and annually thereafter from 1975-2019. The database contains 180 indicators for more than 200 economies.

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (1815-2023)
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CNTS) is a longitudinal set of 194 variables with data for over 200 county units for the period 1815-2023 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945). The CNTS data was originally published by Arthur S. Banks at the State University of New York at Binghamton in 1968 and was based on data from the Statesman's Yearbook. Variables cover economic, political, population and demographic variables. Emphasis is on political regime and systems data.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
***It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource and then your account must be approved before granted access.*** Provides access to business research datasets including COMPUSTAT Global & EMDB,COMPUSTAT, CRSP, EVENTUS,I/B/E/S, IRI, PACAP, and more. We do not have access to every dataset. Please see our guide for more information.

Data Axle Reference Solutions Historical Business Companies (1997-2023)
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly known as ReferenceUSA Historical Business) data collection provides access to company profiles from 1997 through 2022. Variables include company name, address, SIC/NAICS codes, employee size, sales, latitude/longitude, and more.
Data Axle Reference Solutions Historical Consumer Data (2006-2023)
Provides access to household data from 2006 through 2023. Household income, home value, years in residence and location are just some of the categories included. ReferenceUSA is a product of Data Axle, formerly Infogroup.

IMPLAN
Requires free registration with your MSU email address. Also requires multifactor authentication using an authenticator app (i.e. Google Authenticator) or SMS text message using your cell phone.
IMPLAN is a regional economic data platform and includes economic impact models to better understand local economies and the effects of changes in those economies. *Note: We only have access to Michigan data for the Impact Tool.*
Mergent Dun & Bradstreet Historical Private Companies Dataset
***It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.***
Contains historical company data from Dun & Bradstreet going back to 1968. Content includes sales figures, employee counts, addresses, family tree, and more company details.

RateWatch Scholar (2001-2024)
RateWatch Scholar Data contains deposit, loan and fee information for financial institutions across the U.S. from 2001-2024. Data is gathered from institutions of all types and sizes, including banks, credit unions, savings and loan associations, etc. and focuses on retail products offered to the general public.