Forest Industries at MSU Archives & Historical Collections: Large Historical Collections

Warren O. Goodwin papers (00157), 1926-1972                                                    

• 3 cubic feet
• Warren O. Goodwin was a partner in his father’s sawmilling business.  His collection includes his business’ records, lumbering publications, and photographs of sawmills.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1173

Hackley and Hume papers (00097), 1859-1955                                                    

• 83 cubic feet
• The Hackley and Hume papers contain the business records of several inter-related Michigan-based businesses, as well as the private papers of the families of Charles Henry Hackley, and Thomas Hume. Spanning the years 1859 to 1955, the papers document lumbering and lumber investments in Michigan and other states. The papers also document Charles Henry Hackley and Thomas Hume, both prominent timber men, and philanthropists.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1723

William and Edith Overlease collection (00100), 1890-1973                                

• 0.66 cubic feet, 29 Tapes
• The Overlease collection includes transcripts of oral history interviews, together with original tape recordings and supplementary photos, collected by William and Edith Overlease, documenting the history of hardwood logging and lumbering in Benzie County, Michigan, including the communities of Benzonia, Frankfort, and Honor. There are also photographs of lumbering and lumbering camps.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1071

Pere Marquette Lumber Company records (00031), 1860-1912                       

• 3 cubic feet, 17 volumes
• This collection consists of tax receipts, deeds, ledgers, cash books, correspondence, and miscellaneous legal papers having to do with the Pere Marquette Lumber Company. There is also a journal and cash book of the company store, cash book of the Ludington Water Supply Company, and miscellaneous papers of the Flint and Pere Marquette Railroad.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/875

George Rupp papers (00135), 1891-1916                                                              

• 0.66 cubic feet
• The collection includes a number of mineral maps of Gogebic and Ontonagon Counties in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, three letterpress books of correspondence, an account book of lands purchased in 1902, two lumber grading booklets, an 1880 land deed, the agreement between Rupp and Olson, and some land redemption correspondence (1913 and 1915).
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1153

Slafter Family papers (00037), 1855-1891                                                             

• 0.25 cubic feet
• This collection includes the correspondence of Slafter family members, some of which discuss logging, and the lumber trade in Michigan.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/880

Wilson Family papers (00051), 1863-1926                                                            

• 1 cubic feet
• Included in this collection is one book of lumber facts (size, strength, cost, etc.) dated 1882.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/892