Alumni Association Records
Lauren Pringle Brown Papers
- UA 17.153
- Track/Cross Country
- 1 cubic foot
- Brown started his education at Michigan State in 1926. As a student he managed the production of the football publication the Spartan Gridiron (now the Spartan Stadium Sideliner). Brown was also a noted athlete during his college years. A champion cross country runner, he was voted Spartan All-American for his record in distances in 1928 and served as captain of the cross-country team (1929-1931). In 1930 he was awarded a varsity letter and gold track shoes for being unbeaten for three consecutive years in dual track meets. After graduation in 1931, he accepted a position as Cross Country and Freshman Track Coach, a position he held until 1947. As coach, his cross-country team won the Intercollegiate Association of Amateur Athletes of America Championship for five consecutive years. In 1951 he became the scorer for track, swimming, and cross country and in 1956 he devised the scoring system for NCAA Cross Country championships. The papers contain some of his coaching records, track event programs, newspaper articles, and a scrapbook. There are also pictures of different sporting events and practices.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/756
Fendley Collins Collection
- UA 17.80
- Wrestling
- 10.8 cubic feet
- Collins began working at Michigan State in 1929 as a physical education instructor. He was the head wrestling coach from 1929 to 1962. In 1955 he was the coach for the wrestling team for the Pan American Games and the manager of the wrestling team for the 1964 Olympics. The collection contains information on Michigan State’s wrestling team and physical education department. Also included is material relating to Pan American games wrestling team tryouts held at MSU in 1959, the Pan American Games (1959-1971), and the Olympic Wrestling Committee (1948 -1972). The photographs in the collection include team photographs, individual wrestlers, and portraits of Collins, Pan American games tryouts, and Olympic wrestling team. Note: there is some information Collins collected about other sports.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/790
Hugh Duffy Daugherty Papers
- UA 17.63
- Football
- 2 cubic feet
- Duffy Daugherty started his career at Michigan State as the assistant coach to Clarence “Biggie” Munn in 1947. In 1954, he became the head football coach, a position he retained for 19 years. Over that period, Daugherty’s Spartans won 109 games, lost 69, and tied 5. His teams took two Big Ten titles, placed second four times, and were consistently rated among the nation’s top ten. His popularity with sports audiences landed him a job as commentator for ABC Sports in 1973. The materials in the collection are primarily publications and news articles relating to his coaching career, including several scrapbooks. There are also photographs of football teams and friends throughout his MSU career.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1942
Porpoise Fraternity Records
- UA 12.2.5
- Swimming
- 1 Folder
- The Porpoise Fraternity is a swimming honorary organization. It is the Beta Chapter in the National Honorary Swimming Fraternity. The chapter was established 1930 primarily to sponsor and encourage all swimming activities. All male students of Michigan State who showed superior ability and an active interest in swimming were eligible for membership. The records consist of a copy of their Aquatic Yearbook, which lists members and statistics for the varsity and junior varsity swimming and diving program. There is also a folder of photographs.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1931
Green Splash Swimming Club Records
- UA 12.3.18
- Swimming
- 1.8 cubic feet
- In 1920, the Women's Lifesaving Corps of Michigan Agricultural College was founded to teach swimming and lifesaving techniques to interested co-eds. In 1927, the Corps changed its name to Green Splash and reorganized into an honorary swimming club, focusing on synchronized swimming. The Green Splash represented MSU in varsity sports with club members competing in synchronized swimming competitions both nationally and in the Big Ten Conference. They also put on performances for entertainment. In 1998 the name changed to the MSU Synchronized Swimming club. The records of the Green Splash Swimming Club consist of club meeting minutes, membership information, and scrapbooks (1920-1986) containing photographs, memorabilia, and water show programs.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/572
Charles Schmitter Papers
- UA 17.79
- Fencing
- 5 cubic feet
- Charles Schmitter became Michigan State’s head fencing coach in 1938. He was honored many times for his coaching talents. In 1957 he was awarded the title of Fencing Coach of the Year by the National Fencing Coaches Association, was the fencing coach for the 1959 Pan American Games and was named into the National Fencer’s Hall of Fame in 1970. The collection includes Schmitter’s correspondence files, newspaper clippings, fencing publications, information about the National Fencing Coaches Association, the U.S. Olympic Committee (1954-64). Also included are records about MSU physical education curriculum, campus sporting facilities, and athletic governance. The collection also contains photographs.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/215
