MSU Sports Collections at MSU Archives & Historical Collections: University Publications

Programs, Media Guides and Information Sheets published by the Sports Information Office are available for:

Baseball - Media Guide, Serial 158 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2337

Basketball, Men’s

Media Guide, Serial 161 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2338  

Program, Serial 162 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2339

Basketball, Women’s

Program, Serial 764 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2731

Media Guide, Serial 914 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2788

Cross Country, Men’s – Media Guide, Serial 232 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2392

Cross Country, Women’s – Media Guide, Serial 1098 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2910

Fencing, Serial 293 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2425

Field Hockey, Serial 295 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2428

Football

Program, Serial 54 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2273

Media Guide, Serial 305 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2434

Golf, Men’s, Serial 318 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2443

Golf, Women’s, Serial 913 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2787

Gymnastics, Men’s, Serial 335 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2451

Gymnastics, Women’s, Serial 773 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2734

Hockey

Media Guide, Serial 342 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2460

Program, Serial 343 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2461

Lacrosse, Serial 403 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2505

Soccer, Men’s, Serial 641 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2659

Soccer, Women’s – Media Guide, Serial 1096 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2908

Softball, Serial 645 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2661

Swimming, Serial 686 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2680

Tennis, Serial 691 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2681

Tennis, Women’s, Serial 1095 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2907

Track and Field, Men’s, Serial 367 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2478

Track and Field, Women’s, Serial 912 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2786

Volleyball, Serial 911 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2785

Wrestling, Serial 760 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2727

Intramural Handbook

• Serial 389 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2495
• Serial 452 https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2537
• The handbooks contain information about intramural sports including facilities and equipment available, eligibility rules, and teams and events.

Men’s Sports Schedules

• Serial 453
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2538

Varsity ‘S’ Club Newsletter

• Serial 721
• The newsletters have stories about all of the varsity sports teams, club members, and coaches.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2700

Press Box Information Sheet

• Serial 859
• These Information Sheets were provided to members of the press at football games.  Some contain probable starting line-ups, team records, season schedule, half-time entertainment, team roster, and other team information.  Others were created after the game and include a play-by-play summary of the game.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2759

MSU Yearbooks

• Serial 49
• These books provide a yearly snapshot of sporting activities for the preceding school year. Summaries of the events, team histories, photos, and perspectives about popular sports.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/908

The Holcad

• Serial 669
• This forerunner to the State News was an early newspaper that provided articles about sporting events of the day. [Note: The State News is available at the MSU Main Library in the microforms section.] 
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2672

The College Speculum

• Serial 662
• The first edition of The College Speculum was printed on August 1, 1881, with Liberty Hyde Bailey as editor in chief. The College Speculum's board of editors consisted of representatives from five societies (Natural History, Delta Tau Delta, Phi Delta Theta, Union Literary, and Eclectic). Anyone who had ever been a student at M.A.C. was allowed to submit an article. For this reason, this publication is considered to be the first alumni magazine on campus. The Speculum lasted 14 years, ceasing publication in 1895. In its time, the Speculum strengthened ties between alumni, current students, and the college administration by listing activities of M.A.C.'s extended community.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2669

The M.A.C./M.S.C. Record

• Serial 48
• This publication provides a great amount of detail concerning sporting events both held on and off campus.  Most of the articles are written in a “newspaper” style.
• Digitized copies available online: http://onthebanks.msu.edu/Object/1-4-420/the-mac-record/
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2263

Alumni Magazine

• Serial 18
• This publication provides primarily feature stories, but some updates are given for larger sporting events.
• Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2114