Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee records (UA 9.1), 1994-2017
Medicine and Health Information records (UA 8.1.6), 1981-1989
- .25 cu. ft.
- In 1965, Biology and Medicine Information became a unit within the Department of Information Services. The subject emphasis was shifted to medicine and health in 1973. The unit ceased to exist separately in 1978. Since then, information dealing with medicine and health is reported by the News Bureau, a division of University Relations.
- Medicine and Health Information news releases contain various medicine and health (including Veterinary Medicine) event announcements, studies, and conferences.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2053
Michigan Osteopathic College Foundation collection (00214), 1942-2014
- 40 cu. ft.
- This collection documents the founding and history of the Michigan Osteopathic College Foundation, the Michigan College of Osteopathic Medicine, and the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2260
MSU HealthTeam records (UA 3.1), 1947-2011
- 22.5 cu. ft.
- The early records document the major projects taken on by the Institute in fulfilling its objectives. Those were: the establishment of the College of Human Medicine, 1964; the construction of the Life Science Building I, 1966 – 1972; the construction of the Encapsulated Health Care Facility, a project which failed after considerable effort was put into it, 1969 – 1975; the construction of the Clinical Sciences building (1969 – 1979); and the establishment of the College of Osteopathic Medicine (1961 – 1979). The material is best described as project files with supporting research files. It is not, strictly speaking, documentation of the day-to-day functioning of the Institute, but it is detailed documentation of the individual projects. Consequently, series are established by project and arranged alphabetically. The reference files for research on two-year medical programs in the United States, which consist of materials collected on visits to institutions with such programs, are grouped as one series due to their bulk and indirect relationship to the establishment of such a program at MSU. Blueprints and copies from various construction and renovation projects related to health education have been separated into a series and labeled as restricted access. Subsequent records are arranged by subject and do include many of the day-to-day functioning of the MSU HealthTeam.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/183
Olin Health Center Annual reports (UA 7.9), 1919-2018
- 1 cu. ft.
- The Olin Health Center records contain statistical reports for 1924 to 1969. The reports give data on the number of patients, the number and types of illnesses, treatments, and surgery. Also included are data about types of students served (men, women, short course students, and military). There are monthly reports as well as term reports and annual reports. The collection also contains miscellaneous administrative records and photographs. The bulk of the material consists of publications (brochures, flyers, informational booklets, newsletters, posters) and annual reports. Annual Reports are stored separately and include 1941–1971, 1993 and 2008. The reports are also published in the State Board Report for 1919–1957.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://archive.lib.msu.edu/uahc/FindingAids/ua7-9.html
George R. Pray papers (00082), 1890-1907
- 27 items
- George R. Pray was a native of Ann Arbor, Michigan. He attended Ann Arbor High School, from which he graduated c. 1896, and the University of Michigan Medical School, from which he graduated in 1900. He was a member of Phi Beta Pi fraternity and was at one time their secretary.
- Primarily class notes from George R. Pray's studies at the University of Michigan's Medical School. They cover such topics as chemistry, bacteriology, osteology, histology, hygiene, ophthalmology, and gynecology. One eighth grade book of grammar notes (1890-1891), and three volumes of notes from classes at Ann Arbor High School, including Latin, geometry, algebra, and history. Also one bank book drawn for Phi Beta Pi fraternity (1905-1907), of which Pray was apparently secretary, from the Jackson City Bank in Jackson, Michigan. One of Pray's notebooks includes the program of courses for all four levels of medical students (freshman-senior) for fall term, 1898. Another contains the signature of F.M. Lamb and apparently belonged to him.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/986
Office of the Provost records (UA 3), 1850-2016
- 61 cu. ft.
- Archive holdings include annual reports (1947-1969) and publications relating to faculty salaries and regulations, university calendars, awards, and course catalogs. The Office of the Provost (Vice President for Academic Affairs 1956-1959) was established in 1956, performing some of the duties of the former Administrative Assistant in Charge of Academic Affairs. As of 1989, the Provost has one Associate and three Assistants (General Academic Administration, Undergraduate Education, and Academic Computing and Technology). Since 1980, the office has had sole authority over its associates, assistants, and the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory, and it has been jointly responsible for International Studies and Programs, Lifelong Education Programs, and the Human Relations Department. Records of the Office of the Provost and predecessor units (1850-1982) include correspondence (1953-1967), accounting records (1964-1965), transfer letters (1960-1964), reports and proposals (1960-1972), policy compilations (1850-1973), awards dinner and commencement records (1941-1970), and numerous committee records. General records pertain primarily to University colleges and departments. Also includes records pertaining to a proposed College of Law at Michigan State University (1965-1973) and an artist’s rendition of the developing MSU Medical Complex (1970).
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/417
Eleanor Clapp Smith papers (c00575), 1987
- 1 folder
- Eleanor Clapp Smith graduated in 1943 from the Edward W. Sparrow Hospital School of Nursing.
- The collection consists of the book "Sparrow Tales: Memories from the Graduates" compiled by Eleanor Clapp Smith and Gloria Smith Bouterse and published in 1987. It is a compilation of personal stories, newspaper clippings, and photographs of the nurses that graduated from the Edward W. Sparrow Hospital School of Nurses in Lansing, Michigan. The book covers the first graduating class of 1899 to its final graduating class of 1961.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1705
Student Chapter of the American Veterinary Medical Association records (UA 12.3.26), 1927-1997
- 1.33 cu. ft.
- The Michigan State University Student Chapter of the American Veterinary Medical Association (SCAVMA) was founded in January 1927 to serve as a link between veterinary students and the professional organization, the American Veterinary Association. The mission of the organization is to introduce veterinary students to the concept of professionalism, exchange ideas, encourage involvement in organized veterinary medicine, and to support veterinary medical education. Previous names of the organization include the Junior Veterinary Medical Association and the Student American Veterinary Medical Association.
- The records of the Student Chapter of the American Veterinary Medical Association span the years 1927-1997. The records contain copies of the constitution written in 1927 and revised in the 1930s and 1980s. There are also copies of the secretary's book from 1927-1946 and meeting minutes from the 1950s, 1980s, and 1990s. The collection also includes correspondence, conference information, annual reports, and newsletters.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/614
Student Health Awareness for Positive Energy (SHAPE) records (UA 12.3.23), 1995
- 1 folder
- Student Health Awareness for Positive Energy (SHAPE) was a student organization that promoted healthier lifestyle choices by educating students in wellness-related topic such as nutrition, exercise, stress management and responsible socializing. It also organized activities which provided opportunities for socializing that did not involve alcohol or drugs.
- The collection contains the constitution of the organization, meeting minutes, and attendance lists.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/488
University Conferences and Institutes records (UA 3.3.3), 1944-1985
- 3 cu. ft.
- Records and bulletins for conferences and seminars sponsored by the Lifelong Education Programs Office in cooperation with other departments on campus. Programs cover a wide variety of fields including police administration, dairy engineering, agriculture, education, business management, forestry, and medicine. Archives holdings include publications which list and highlight conferences held. Conferences and Institutes, begun in 1950 as Special Courses and Conferences, later called simply "Conferences" (1955-1962), has always reported directly to Lifelong Education Programs. In 1964 and 1965, it was responsible for the Cap and Gown series, a program to assist communities in developing their appreciation of the performing arts.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/751
