E. D. Devereux collection (c00252), 1926
Ivan Goodrich collection (00144), 1910-1965
- 1.33 cu. ft.
- Correspondence, reports, financial records, and Michigan Tourist publications belonging to Ivan Goodrich, a member of various Eaton County (Mich.) Boards from 1938 to 1966. Also substantial amounts of records from the Hayes-Green-Beach Memorial Hospital in Charlotte, Michigan, and the Tri-County Planning Commission. County government records in the collection include the Eaton County Health Department, Road Commission, and Board of Social Welfare.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1161
John Harvey Kellogg papers (00013), 1876-1959
- 7 cu. ft., 132 volumes
- John Harvey Kellogg, 1852-1943, took over the supervision of the Seventh Day Adventists' Battle Creek Sanitarium, Battle Creek, Michigan, in 1875. An innovator in health and medicine, he went on to develop such foods as peanut butter and granola, and the process for flaking grains familiar to all as prepared breakfast cereals. His food innovations led to the foundation of the Kellogg Food Company.
- This collection consists of the private and business papers of John Harvey Kellogg, inventor of prepared cereal breakfast food and co-founder of the Kellogg Food Company of Battle Creek, Michigan. Kellogg's private papers include his correspondence with the Seventh Day Adventists (1895-1944), his food experiments, and copyrights and patents. Kellogg's business papers comprise the bulk of the collection and represent his numerous business, educational and charitable ventures. These papers document the progression of businesses established by Kellogg and his brother, Will. These businesses include the Sanitas Nut Food Company, the Kellogg Food Company, the Battle Creek Food Company and Battle Creek College. Kellogg was a party in 2 major lawsuits, one with his brother over the use of the Kellogg name, the other over the will of Mary F. Henderson, benefactress of the Battle Creek College. Both cases are documented in the collection.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/787
Michigan Dietetic Association records (00164), 1929-1987
- 4 cu. ft.
- The Michigan Dietetic Association was first convened in April, 1929, in Battle Creek, Michigan, by seventeen dieticians who were attending a convention of the Southeastern Michigan Dietetic Association. It first officers were Lenna F. Cooper (President), and Bess Whittaker (Vice President). The MDA was accepted as affiliate of the American Dietetic Association in 1931. Its purpose was to provide dietetic practice education, encourage research, and promote optimal health and nutrition. Several members of the MDA held prominent national positions in dietetics.
- Records of the Michigan Dietetic Association, including scrapbooks, Executive Board minutes, bulletins, convention reports, historical data, secretary's records, and American Dietetic Association literature. Scrapbooks shed light on the historical development of the MDA through photographs, news clippings, and copies of the MDA official newsletter, THE BULLETIN. Issues of THE BULLETIN from 1948 to 1970 are bound in three volumes. ADA literature pertains to dietetics in general and to the MDA in particular. 3 cassettes recording the April 1974, MDA Executive Board Meeting include a discussion of the classification of dieticians at different levels, as recommended and later implemented by the MDA.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1180
Michigan Tuberculosis Association records (00077), 1909-1966
- 43 cu. ft., 3 Vols.
- The collection includes records and materials of the Michigan Tuberculosis Association from 1909 to 1966. It is most complete for the period 1925 to 1950. Records include: Annual reports, correspondence, records of sanatoriums, public health information materials, and Easter Seal records. The bulk of the material is correspondence between the Association and its local affiliates relating to topics such as the Easter Seal campaigns, sanatoriums and the early diagnosis campaign.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1569
McDonald Cooperative Dairy Company records (c00503), 1932-1936
- 2 folders
- These records consist of copies of correspondence between the McDonald Cooperative Dairy Company and the American Medical Association regarding the AMA's seal of approval for the company's homogenized milk. Also included are committee reports and relevant AMA publications.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1636
Nursing Home Administrators Program records (UA 3.3.4), 1971, 1987, n.d.
- 3 folders
- The Nursing Home Administrators program was begun in 1963, under the auspices of the Continuing Education Service. In 1966, it became one of MSU's "Special Programs" and reported to that authority.
- The records consist of three folders of materials related to the administration of nursing homes.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/399
