LibGuides: Gender in Modern Europe: Find Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

To find journal articles look up your topic in one or more of these databases to obtain citations. Start with first ones listed here.

Steps are: Search, using the Index in the database, if available. Review your results. Modify search as needed. Notice whether there is a link to the full text of the article(s) you want to read provided in the entries. If yes and the link works, viola you are all set. If there no link to full text in the entry, note the name of the journal and date/issue needed. If the hook to MSU holdings in the entry does not work, look up the journal name in the E Books and Journals link of our online catalog; we may offer the date/issue you need online this way. If we do not, look up the journal name in the Books and Media link to see if we have a paper copy of the date/issue needed. These will be in Main stacks or Remote Storage. In the catalog entries there is a place to click to have volumes brought from Remote Storage to the Circulation Desk in the Library lobby to check out.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America. Entries have links to the full texts of the articles in some cases. The ones that don't, look up the journal name in the E Books and Journals link for our online catalog. If you don't find a link to full text of the journal there or not for the date you want, then look up the journal title in Books and Media link, as we may have it only in paper copy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, gender studies, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will likely be 4-5 years old. It is a KWIT index, keyword in title database. To be more certain your keywords are used in the way you mean, it helps to scroll down and check off the discipline(s) you want the journal material to come from.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. The source documents indexed include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1983-present. Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. EBSSCOhost platform.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Anthropology is a core discipline covered by this database. Journal and book coverage draws significantly on the collection of the Library of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Over 50 percent of journals indexed are published outside the US or the UK; 25 percent of references are in languages other than English. Coverage dates back to 1951.

Here are a number of other indexes to secondary scholarly sources you might wish to use. Order is alphabetical by title. Read the descriptions of content. Consider using these if you don't find enough information in the indexes above or and/or your topic relates to a specific country.

Alternative Press Index and Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the database was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
1990-
ABSEEES covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographical citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. The web edition coverage begins from 1990 and is updated monthly. Hardcopy volumes from 1956 onwards are located in the Main Library Stacks.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
1992-
Covers over 600 sources published by more than 100 organizations around the world. Begins with sources from 1992 and expands through the present with more than 100 periodicals in addition to non-periodical source publications.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Germanistik Online Datenbank This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable database of the leading international review journal, covering German Language and Literary Studies. Altogether, approximately 350,000 monographic studies, collected volumes and journals from the areas of literature, theatre studies, media studies, cultural history, and linguistics are made accessible bibliographically.
History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
The History of Feminism is a curated collection of primary and secondary resources from the Taylor and Francis collection relating to the long Nineteenth Century of feminism (1776-1928).
Created with the help of academic editor Professor Ann Heilmann, History of Feminism provides the ideal starting point for students and researchers who are studying this period of history as well as providing key pieces of primary content to aid research.

Irish History Online Gives access to the contents of the Writings on Irish History for 1936 to 2004, in addition to material on the history of Ireland from the Royal Historical Society bibliography and further publications on the Irish Diaspora. Use this in conjunction with Bibliography of British and Irish History, above in this list.

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas Sort of like JSTOR in purpose.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Gender in Modern Europe: Find Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles