LibGuides: AI and Society (LB 492, Jackson): New Uses for AI

Newspapers

Nexis Uni
A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. **To use Company Dossier, pop up blocker must be turned off.**

To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from this database, use Text Assembler.
Proquest US Newsstream
A collection of current news sources including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post. It also offers exclusive access to over 80 Gannett regional newspapers.

Computer Science Databases

These databases have articles and conference abstracts about Computer Science in them. The articles they contain are very recent (which is good for researching AI), but they're focused on computer programming, rather than AI applications. To get the best results, try these databases when you already have a specific topic in mind, and be aware that your keywords may have to be very specific. For example, searching for "diagnosis" will mostly bring up articles about diagnosing problems with software. "Medical diagnosis" will bring up articles about AI diagnosing disease.

ACM Digital Library
1985-
The ACM Digital Library contains over 30 publications All full-text Conference Proceedings Publication archives dating back to the 1950s; over 1 million pages of text; over 50,000 bibliographic citations.
Computer Source
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Computer Database
Computer Database provides full-text and image articles for a wide variety of research applications, including: Competitive analysis of high tech companies and their products; Research on industry trends in telecommunications, electronics, robotics and more; Research on software and hardware.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Provides full-text access to all of the publications of the IEEE and IET. Coverage is complete from 1988 to the present. More backfiles will be added as content is digitized.

Finding the right subject database

Go to the Database list URL: https://libguides.lib.msu.edu/az/databases
Select the "Subjects" dropdown menu (shown here with a red border):
Choose the subject area most closely related to your research topic. You'll see a list of databases that contain articles on that topic.
Try one of the "Best Bets" databases.