Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Agrophysics by This Encyclopedia of Agrophysics will provide up-to-date information on the physical properties and processes affecting the quality of the environment and plant production. It will be a "first-up" volume which will nicely complement the recently published Encyclopedia of Soil Science, (November 2007) which was published in the same series. In a single authoritative volume a collection of about 250 informative articles and ca 400 glossary terms covering all aspects of agrophysics will be presented. The authors will be renowned specialists in various aspects in agrophysics from a wide variety of countries. Agrophysics is important both for research and practical use not only in agriculture, but also in areas like environmental science, land reclamation, food processing etc. Agrophysics is a relatively new interdisciplinary field closely related to Agrochemistry, Agrobiology, Agroclimatology and Agroecology. Nowadays it has been fully accepted as an agricultural and environmental discipline. As such this Encyclopedia volume will be an indispensable working tool for scientists and practitioners from different disciplines, like agriculture, soil science, geosciences, environmental science, geography, and engineering.
Call Number: QH301-705 Online
Publication Date: 2011-06-29
Encyclopedia of Systems and Control by The Encyclopedia of Control collects a broad range of short expository articles that describe the current state of the art in the central topics of control and systems engineering as well as in many of the related fields in which control is an enabling technology. The editors have assembled the most comprehensive reference possible, and this has been greatly facilitated by the publisher's commitment continuously to publish updates to the articles as they become available in the future. Although control engineering is now a mature discipline, it remains an area in which there is a great deal of research activity, and as new developments in both theory and applications become available, they will be included in the online version of the encyclopedia. A carefully chosen team of leading authorities in the field has written the more than 200 articles that comprise the work. The topics range from basic principles of feedback in servomechanisms to advanced topics such as the control of Boolean networks and evolutionary game theory. Because the content has been selected to reflect both foundational importance as well as subjects that are of current interest to the research and practitioner communities, a broad readership that includes students, application engineers, and research scientists will find material that is of interest.
Call Number: TJ212-225 Online
Publication Date: 2020
Open Educational Resources - OER
Introduction to Biosystems Engineering
Nicholas M. Holden, Mary Leigh Wolfe, Jactone A. Ogejo, Enda J. Cummins,
Copyright Year: 2021
ISBN 13: 9781949373974
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE), Virginia Tech Publishing
Environmental Biotechnology: A biosystems approach by Environmental Biotechnology: A Biosystems Approach, Second Edition presents valuable information on how biotechnology has acted as a vital buffer among people, pollution, and the environment. It answers the most important questions on the topic, including how, and why, a knowledge and understanding of the physical, chemical, and biological principles of the environment must be achieved in order to develop biotechnology applications. Most texts address either the applications or the implications of biotechnology. This book addresses both. The applications include biological treatment and other environmental engineering processes. The risks posed by biotechnologies are evaluated from both evidence-based and precautionary perspectives. Using a systems biology approach, the book provides a context for researchers and practitioners in environmental science that complements guidebooks on the necessary specifications and criteria for a wide range of environmental designs and applications. Users will find crucial information on the topics scientific researchers must evaluate in order to develop further technologies.
Call Number: TD195.B58 .L36 2016 Online
Publication Date: 2015-11-10
Biosystems Engineering by Maximize productivity while minimizing environmental impact Develop sustainable products, energy sources, and processes using the concepts and methods contained in this interdisciplinary resource. Biosystems Engineering discusses how to effectively merge solid design techniques with biology and the applied sciences. Featuring chapters by experts in each field, this authoritative guide explains how to analyze genetic data, design ecosystem models, implement conservation strategies, harness biofuels, and ensure food safety. Full coverage of transgenetic wood production, package engineering, supercritical fluid extraction, and agricultural land management is included. Discover how to: Use microarray technology to classify genes and construct databases Build mathematical models and computer simulations of ecosystems Create bio-oils and carbon-neutral transportation fuels using pyrolisis Synthesize biodiesel and ethanol from vegetable oil and animal fat Purify and enrich biotechnological products with bioseparation Develop modified woods and herbicide-resistant crops using transgenetics Extract antioxidants, supercritical fluids, and bioregulators from plants Deploy ecologically sound fertilizing, composting, and harvesting methods
Call Number: TP248.3 .N34 2010 Online
Publication Date: 2009-09-08
Innovative Biosystems Engineering for Sustainable Agriculture, Forestry and Food Production by This book gathers the latest advances, innovations, and applications in the field of innovative biosystems engineering for sustainable agriculture, forestry and food production. Focusing on the challenges of implementing sustainability in various contexts in the fields of biosystems engineering, it shows how the research has addressed the sustainable use of renewable and non-renewable resources. It also presents possible solutions to help achieve sustainable production. The Mid-Term Conference of the Italian Association of Agricultural Engineering (AIIA) is part of a series of conferences, seminars and meetings that the AIIA organizes, together with other public and private stakeholders, to promote the creation and dissemination of new knowledge in the sector. The contributions included in the book were selected by means of a rigorous peer-review process, and offer an extensive and multidisciplinary overview of interesting solutions in the field of innovative biosystems engineering for sustainable agriculture.
Call Number: TA775-787 Online
Publication Date: 2020-03-20
Introduction to Agricultural Engineering Technology: A Problem Solving Approach by The third edition of this book exposes the reader to a wide array of engineering principles and their application to agriculture. It presents an array of more or less independent topics to facilitate daily assessments or quizzes, and aims to enhance the students' problem solving ability. Each chapter contains objectives, worked examples and sample problems are included at the end of each chapter. This book was first published in the late 60's by AVI. It remains relevant for post secondary classes in Agricultural Engineering Technology and Agricultural Mechanics, and secondary agriculture teachers.
Call Number: S1-S972 Online
Publication Date: 2018-07-06