Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference works - electronic
Challenges in Tourism Research by
Call Number: G155.A1 C437 2015 Online
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Experts from different disciplines and diverse geographic regions discuss fundamental, often controversial topics in the field of tourism studies.
Tourism Research Frontiers by
Call Number: G155.A1 .C436 2015eb Online
Publication Date: 2015-08-05
This book contains original papers which span a number of creative topics and debates and which transcend existing frontiers of tourism knowledge, including popculture tourism, gospel festivals as heterotopia, tourism and elections, articulations of the concept of tourismization and tourism of spiritual growth and critical explorations of the tourism image of Switzerland as represented in right wing visual rhetoric. Importantly this original text also includes novel discussions of sustainability and destination evolution and network dynamics.
VFR Travel Research: international perspectives [electronic resource] by
Call Number: G155.A1 V48 2015 Online
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
This is the first book to explore research on visiting friends and relatives (VFR). In many countries VFR is the largest single travel-related market and for some regional economies accounts for over half of all tourism flows. In assembling an international collection of quality VFR-related research the editors present the profiles, characteristics, opportunities and behaviours of VFR travel for the benefit of researchers, industry practitioners and educators.
Tourists' Behaviors and Evaluations by
Call Number: TX911 .T687 2014eb Online
Publication Date: 2014-07-31
The authors propose that complexity theory holds great promise in improving understanding of guests' evaluations of their service experiences.
Research Themes for Tourism by
Call Number: G155.A1 R474 2011 Online
Publication Date: 2011-02-10
Tourism studies at Masters level are often divided into subsets of tourism such as environmental tourism, rural tourism and sports tourism. This textbook provides an overview of types of tourism, and common themes studied in courses to allow undergraduate students to become familiar with a wide range of tourism topics at a foundation level, allowing them to make an informed decision about their future studies and career.
Cultural Tourism Research Methods by
Call Number: G156.5.H47 C858 2010 Online
Publication Date: 2010-08-24
Cultural tourism includes experiencing local culture, traditions and lifestyle, participation in arts-related activities, and visits to museums, monuments and heritage sites. This book reviews a wide range of qualitative and quantitative research methods applied to the field of cultural tourism, including surveys, mystery tourist visits, visitor tracking, grand tour narratives, collage, researcher-created video, photo-based interviews, ethnographic and actor-network approaches.
Other electronic works
Tourism social science series
Links to the titles in the Tourism Social Science series published by the Emerald Group. Some are electronic, some are in print.
Advances in Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research Ser.
Published by the Emerald Group. A mix of print and electronic formats.
Aspects of tourism
Links to the titles in the Aspects of tourism series published by Channel View Publications. Some are in electronic format, some in print.
OECD Tourism Trends and Policies (2010-)
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development tourism trends and policies.
Building on the work of the OECD Tourism Committee, within the OECD Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs and Local Development, this periodic report is an international reference and benchmark on how effectively countries are supporting competitiveness, innovation and growth in tourism, through thematic chapters and 51 country-specific policy and statistical profiles.
Tourism, leisure, and recreation series
Print format series. Published by Mansell and later Pinter.
Tourism and cultural change
Published by Channel View Publications. A mix of print and electronic formats.
Tourism information series
Series of Extension Bulletins issued by MSU Cooperative Extension. Both print and electronic formats.
Reference works - print
Research Methods for Leisure, Recreation and Tourism by
Call Number: GV14.5 .R46 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-24
This work describes fundamental elements of research methods for leisure, recreation and tourism, with contributions from internationally renowned and active researchers in the field. It covers statistical information such as measurement of variables, sampling, questionnaire design and evaluation methods, and also contains wider discussion of writing proposals, communicating research findings, cross-cultural research, and the use of new technologies in conducting research.
Handbook of Scales in Tourism and Hospitality Research by
Call Number: G155.7 .G87 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-20
As the field of tourism and hospitality experiences maturity and scientific sophistication, researchers need to fully understand the breadth and depth of existing scales that help explain, understand, monitor, and predict not only behavior but also consequences of such behavior as a function of demand and supply interactions in the field. By introducing the importance of measurement and scales and providing groupings of existing scales, The Handbook of Scales in Tourism and Hospitality Research serves as the state-of-the-art reference book in the field of tourism, hospitality and allied fields such leisure, recreation, and services management.
Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for Your Dissertation by
Call Number: G155.7 .M37 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
Research methods can be a daunting topic - Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for your Dissertation is a unique text that takes away the stress, worry and confusion by providing a step-by-step, user friendly guide to all you need to know to successfully research and compile your dissertation.
Planning Research in Hospitality and Tourism by
Call Number: TX911.5 .A45 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-11
Planning Research in Hospitality and Tourism provides a concise and clear approach to planning research projects which are a necessity in most hospitality and tourism courses taught at degree level. The text considers the particular characteristics of the hospitality and tourism industry, whilst providing a balanced approach toward both quantitative and qualitative methods of research.