LibGuides: CEM 851 Advanced Organic Chemistry: Databases

Find Chemistry articles and data

Reaxys
Reaxys includes three chemistry information databases: Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry. Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focused and relevant information in chemistry.
To download content, it is necessary to register with an msu.edu email address. Searching does not require registration.
SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
WebCSD (Cambridge Structural Database)
Established in 1965, the CSD is the world’s repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. Containing the results of over half-a-million x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses this unique database of accurate 3D structures has become an essential resource to scientists around the world.
NIST WebBook
This is the web site for the National Institute of Standards and Technology data collections. It contains the physical properties and spectra for several thousand chemical compounds. Graphical spectral information is available. To manipulate the graph in the web browser java must be enabled, to print the spectra java must be disabled.

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)

An integrated spectral database for organic compounds, which includes six different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds: an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS): a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. Compounds may be searched by name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS registry number, number of atoms/ elements and spectral data.

Interdisciplinary databases

MSU Electronic Theses and Dissertations
An online collection of theses and dissertations awarded from Michigan State University.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Comprehensive collection of fulltext dissertations and theses since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for earlier periods. Includes MSU dissertations and theses.
Dryad Digital Repository
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad is a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types. Anyone can search and download data for re-use, and Dryad provides a citation to credit the creator. Members of Michigan State University can create an account, deposit dataset and associated files, and manage those in this digital repository. Owning an ORCID ID (https://orcid.org) is encouraged.

Google Scholar
If you are accessing resources through Google Scholar and want to ensure your access to MSU Library resources is seamless, do the following:

Go to Google Scholar
Click the menu to the left of My Profile, in the upper-left corner
Click on "Settings"
Click on "Library Links"
Search for Michigan State University
Select "Michigan State University Libraries – MSU Text Access" and "MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY - ProQuest Fulltext" by checking the boxes
Click "Save"
Do your search in Google Scholar
Click on the link for "MSU Access" that will appear to the right of the title of the resource and you'll be prompted for your NetID and password to access that resource. Please Note – if you click on the title and not the "MSU Access" link you won’t be taken to the resource.