LibGuides: Mycology: Article Research

Articles - Refresher

Articles contain the most current information published in a field of study. The Library Catalog contains the journal titles to all of the print and electronic format journals to which we subscribe. The Catalog does not list the articles within the journals. Articles are in article databases.

Popular, Scholarly, and Trade Article Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the differences between these three article types.

UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window
If you are still uncertain about the scholarly nature of a journal, you may look up the title or ISSN in the periodical database UlrichsWeb (Ulrich 's International Periodicals Directory). It contains subscription, publisher, ISSN and other information on 250,000 active and ceased serials worldwide: magazines, journals, annuals and more.

Article Research

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. It covers the following fields: Botany, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Evolutionary ecology, Kinseology, Neurology, and Toxicology. Coverage from 1926 to the present. Web of Science platform.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1910-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.

Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria (Cab)
The Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria are designed for use by plant pathologists and veterinary and medical mycologists. They provide integrated information to allow identification/confirmation of identity of significant species, along with related information on pathology or other economic significance.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is the platform for European based publisher Springer. It provides online access to reference works and other e-books, in addition to their journals in the scientific, technical, and medical fields. PLEASE NOTE MSU LIBRARIES HAS NOT PURCHASED ALL CONTENT ON THIS PLATFORM.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
1995-
ScienceDirect (from Elsevier) provides access to the full text of over 2,000 journals, from 1995 to present (with extended coverage for some titles). It also contains electronic books. Coverage includes strong content in the physical sciences. Personalization options for table of contents alerts, saving searches, etc., are available.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
According to EBSCO, Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
The Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index is a popular and scholarly index to over 300 journals on gardening, horticulture, landscape design, botany, ecology, plant conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
1983-
Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne launched its original aggregation, BioOne.1, with 40 titles in 2001. In January 2007 BioOne added BioOne.2, a complementary collection of 40 new titles. Now at maturity, BioOne Complete about 200 high-impact publications. BioOne.1 provides the scholarly community with a must-have collection of critical, high-quality titles across the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
1970-
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Grow: Plant Health Exchange This link opens in a new window
The Plant Management Network is a unique cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Designed to provide plant science practitioners fast electronic access to proven solutions, the Plant Management Network offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations. In addition, the network's three peer-reviewed citable journals, Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazinglands, and Plant Health Progress, provide credible current information in areas important to practitioners, policy makers, and the public.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System, formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and two international partners. ProQuest platform.

Acta Horticulturae - Proceedings by International Society for Horticultural Science (ISHS)
Acta Horticulturae (ISSN 0567-7572) is a series of scientific technical publications, mainly the proceedings of International Society for Horticultural Science (ISHS) Symposia and the ISHS International Horticultural Congress.

Requesting Articles

MARS: MSU Article Retrieval Service
This service provides copies of non-electronic journal articles and book chapters that the MSU Libraries owns, and is available to all MSU students and personnel. Documents are requested and made available through your Illiad account.
ILLIAD - Interlibrary Loan Requests
ILLIAD is the Interlibrary loan system for articles, books, government documents, and other materials. It is used to process MARS and UBorrow requests, and for items not held at MSU Libraries. For questions about ILLIAD and placing requests, please consult the ILLIAD FAQs. First-time requesters will need to register and create a password, about a 2-3 minute process, after which you can begin immediately to place requests.

Plant Sciences Librarian

Suzanne Teghtmeyer

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Main Library
366 W. Circle Dr.
East Lansing, MI 48824
teghtmey@msu.edu

Orcid ID

Subjects: Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics, Agriculture

Herbaria Specimens

JSTOR Global Plants
JSTOR Global Plants (formerly JSTOR Plant Science) offers access to botanical and other resources from around the world including:
•The world’s largest database of plant type specimens representing the botanical diversity of the planet. More than 600,000 specimens are available today. When complete, there will be an estimated 2.2 million.
•Over 175,000 scientific research articles and other content dating back hundreds of years from leading academic journals including Kew Bulletin, Mycologia, International Journal of Plant Sciences, Science, PNAS, and others.
•Foundational reference works and books such as The Useful Plants of West Tropical Africa, Flowering Plants of South Africa, and illustrations from Curtis's Botanical Magazine.
•A significant set of correspondence, including Kew’s Directors' Correspondence which included hand-written letters and memorandum from the senior staff of Kew from 1841 to 1928.
•More than 20,000 paintings, photographs, drawings, and other images.

Print indexes

Index to American botanical literature, 1886-1966. by Torrey Botanical Club.
Call Number: Z5351 .T6 v.1-4 [at Remote Storage]
Publication Date: 1969
A reproduction of an index published serially since 1886 in the Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club.
Plant science catalog; botany subject index by National Agricultural Library
Call Number: Z5351 .U5 v.1-15
Publication Date: 1958
15 volumes. Title on spine: Botany subject index.
Also ONLINE through HathiTrust
Bibliography of agriculture. Section D, Plant science.
Call Number: Z5073 .U5 - at Remote Storage

MSU Libraries

Research Guides