ADV 481: Company and Competitor Analysis

Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.

Provides access to D&B's Hoover's private and public U.S and international company data. It also contains a directory of U.S. consumers, industry profiles, and more.

***Cancelled due to budget cuts. Not updated after 2025. Please use one of our company databases (i.e. MarketLine) as an alternative database.*** Provides information on more than 11,000 influential and emerging companies worldwide including background and history of a company, merger and acquisition activity over time, the impact of particular sales and marketing campaigns, the effectiveness of executive leadership, and much more. ***Includes other directories and reference titles. Browse or search publication title to get to this title only.***

A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. **To use Company Dossier, pop up blocker must be turned off.**

To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from this database, use Text Assembler.

Includes access to:
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Brands and Their Companies
Business Rankings Annual
Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory

Provides U.S. and International reports, data, and news for industries, companies and brands, economy, and consumers. It focuses more on the consumer products and services but also also contains sections supply sections for ingredients and packaging.

***Mergent Online has been discontinued by Mergent and access ended June 30, 2025. Please use one of our other company databases: Mergent Market Atlas, LSEG Workspace, or FactSet. ***
Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies. Mergent is good for finding company financials, SEC filings (US only) current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies, stock information, and executive information. It also has company history, competitors, company ownership (i.e. institutional holdings, insiders, etc.), corporate calendar, company news, industry profiles, and country profiles. ***To search the private companies, select D&B Private Company Database. Includes separate tabs for Mergent Supply Chain, Mergent Bond Viewer, and Mergent Investext.***

Contains directory information on over 14 million U.S. and over 1.4 million Canadian businesses, including detailed information for private companies and franchise locations. ***Previously known as ReferenceUSA.***

Provides readable high level analysis for industries from the United States, some US states, worldwide, and in Canada and China. Includes supply chain, market share, and ease of entry industry data.

Provides U.S. and International reports, data, and news for industries, companies and brands, economy, and consumers. It focuses more on the consumer products and services but also also contains sections supply sections for ingredients and packaging.

Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.

Provides market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. The reports analyze market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics. Also, has new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. ***Formerly: Mintel Academic Reports and Mintel GNPD***