Food and Agriculture Resources in Special Collections: Food and agriculture

Search the Special Collections catalog for the subject heading Agricultural machinery -- catalogs.

• These are items that were cataloged individually and are housed in the Main Library.

Browse the finding aid for the archival collection of Agricultural Equipment Catalogs.

• 15 boxes, organized by company name.

Search the Special Collections catalog for these subject headings:

• Animal rights
• Animal welfare

Possibly of interest:

• Environmental ethics

Search the Special Collections catalog for the subject heading Bees.

Search the Special Collections catalog for the subject heading Agriculture.

Search the Special Collections catalog for the subject heading Diet therapy.

Search the Special Collections catalog for the subject heading Foraging.

Special Collections has some lovely examples of manuscript cookbooks from the late 17th to early 20th centuries. From oldest to newest:

• Anna West, her book (1684)
• Receipts for cookery (1700s)
• Anne Western (1716?)
• Mrs Mary Ockold, her receipt book (1722)
• Margaret Jones recipe book (1724)
• Guilhelmi Corne, Cures and Recipes (1753-1815?)
• Anne Bannister, Heckfield (1758)
• Elizabeth Pettigrew's book (1773)
• Mary Hale's cookbook (1780)
• Margaret Firth's book (1782)
• Receipts (late 1700s to early 1800s?)
• Receipts (1800s?)
• A.H. Best Cookbook (1800s?)
• Manuscript cook book (1816)
• Mrs Lewis receipt book (1831-1875?)
• Frances Hodges receipt book (1834)
• Mrs Austen's Receipt book (1835)
• Receipt book (1853-1870?)
• Alice McMurran cooking and baking recipes (1887-1912?)
• Mary A. Addoms Durand cookbook (1895)
• Cooking notebook for waitress course (1899)
• Cake, dessert, and other recipes (1900s?)
• Cooking ideas... Walter French High School, Lansing (1930s?)

Search the Special Collections catalog for the subject headings:

• Mexican American migrant agricultural laborers
• Migrant agricultural laborers
• United Farm Workers

Search the Special Collections catalog for the subject headings:

• National Agricultural Workers Union
• Sharecropping

Search the Special Collections catalog for the subject headings:

• Vegan cooking
• Veganism