Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Narrative in the College Classroom: Special Collections

Special Collections

The Special Collections Reading Room is now located on the first floor of the Main Library! Look for the glass-walled area across from the Circulation Desk, halfway between the north and south entrances.

  • Special Collections materials may be used only in our reading room. Search our catalog and place requests online, or consult with a librarian when you arrive.
  • The majority of our collection is housed in the Main Library and can be paged for you in 5-10 minutes. If you place requests ahead of time, your material will be ready when you arrive.
  • Some materials, including archival collections and oversize items, are stored off-campus. If the location says REMOTE, request the item three days before your visit.

Comic books & graphic novels

We have about 250,000 comic books and graphic novels, all individually cataloged. The collection includes thousands of comics from all over the world in their original languages, and a limited number of foreign comics in English-language translations.

The subject headings for comics start with the subject content, followed by a subheading "comic books, strips, etc." Combine these in a keyword search, such as:

For comics with personal content, search Autobiographical comic books, strips, etc.

Zines

We have a growing collection of zines, including many with personal content. Do a keyword search for the term Zines and a word or phrase from your topic of interest. Example:

keyword = zines and eating disorders

Michigan State University