Canadian Government Information

The site offers a series of links to information products and services from Government of Canada organizations, as well as information on Canada's people, history, and geography.

Included publications are those produced through or by the Government of Canada;
laws, regulations and notices affecting their lives, published in the Canada Gazette; and Government of Canada advertising and public opinion research. Some publications are listed for reference purposes only while others are available in portable downloadable electronic format.

Search the digital collections of libraries, archives and museums from across Canada. Materials include books, journals, newspapers, government documents, photographs, maps, post cards, sheet music, audio and video files about Canada's heritage.

The Library and Archives of Canada Act received Royal Assent on April 22, 2004. For the purposes of preservation it allows Library and Archives Canada (LAC) to collect a representative sample of Canadian websites. To meet its new mandate, LAC began to harvest the web domain of the Federal Government of Canada starting in December 2005. As resources permit, this harvesting activity will be undertaken on a semi-annual basis. The website data which is harvested is stored in the Government of Canada Web Archive (GC WA). Client access to the content of the GC WA is provided through searching by keyword, by department name, and by URL. It is also possible to search by specific format type, e.g. .pdf.

Explore how the Government of Canada creates greater transparency, accountability, increases citizen engagement, and drives innovation and economic opportunities through open data, open information, and open dialogue. Includes open data and open maps.

The Canada Gazette is the official news bulletin of the Government of Canada. The Canada Gazette is published under authority of the Statutory Instruments Act. It consists of three parts:
Canada Gazette, Part I: contains all formal public notices, official appointments, miscellaneous notices and proposed regulations from the government and private sectors that are required to be published by a federal statute or a regulation.
Canada Gazette, Part II: contains regulations as defined in the Statutory Instruments Act, and certain other classes of statutory instruments.
Canada Gazette, Part III: contains the most recent Public Acts of Parliament and their enactment proclamations.

GEDS provide an integrated directory of all federal public servants.