Solid Phase Microextraction
by
This book offers comprehensive information on the developments and applications of the solid phase microextraction (SPME) technique. The first part of the book briefly introduces readers to the fundamentals of SPME, while subsequent sections describe the applications of SPME technique in detail, including environmental analysis (air, water, soil/sediments), food analysis (volatile/nonvolatile compounds), and bioanalysis (plants, animal tissues, body fluids). The advantages and future challenges of the SPME technique are also discussed. Including recent research advances and further developments of SPME, the book offers a practical reference guide and a valuable resource for researchers and users of SPME techniques. The target audience includes analytical chemists, environmental scientists, biological scientists, material scientists, and analysts, as well as students at universities/institutes in related fields. Dr. Gangfeng Ouyang is a Professor at the School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Sun Yat-sen University, China. Dr. Ruifen Jiang is an Associate Professor at the School of Environment, Jinan University, China.
Applications of Solid Phase Microextraction
by
Solid Phase Microextraction (SPME) has been introduced as a modern alternative to current sample preparation technology, and has a wide range of applications. Focusing on quantitative aspects of analysis, Applications of Solid Phase Microextraction aims to describe these applications. In industry, practical uses of SPME can be found in environmental, food, pharmaceutical, clinical and forensic applications, all of which are described in this book. Important scientific applications such as reaction monitoring, characterization of coatings and distributions of analytes in natural multiphase systems are also discussed. Throughout there are descriptions of new technologies, including new coatings and interfaces for analytical instrumentation (SPME/LC and SPME/CE), automation and calibration processes. Written by internationally recognised experts, edited by the scientist involved in the research since its infancy, and encompassing a wide range of applications, this book will be ideal for anyone wishing to explore the feasibility of using SPME technology.
Ultra-High Performance Liquid Chromatography and Its Applications
by
Explores both the benefits and limitations of new UHPLC technology High performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) has been widely used in analytical chemistry and biochemistry to separate, identify, and quantify compounds for decades. The science of liquid chromatography, however, was revolutionized a few years ago with the advent of ultra-high performance liquid chromatography (UHPLC), which made it possible for researchers to analyze sample compounds with greater speed, resolution, and sensitivity. Ultra-High Performance Liquid Chromatography and Its Applications enables readers to maximize the performance of UHPLC as well as develop UHPLC methods tailored to their particular research needs. Readers familiar with HPLC methods will learn how to transfer these methods to a UHPLC platform and vice versa. In addition, the book explores a variety of UHPLC applications designed to support research in such fields as pharmaceuticals, food safety, clinical medicine, and environmental science. The book begins with discussions of UHPLC method development and method transfer between HPLC and UHPLC platforms. It then examines practical aspects of UHPLC. Next, the book covers: Coupling UHPLC with mass spectrometry Potential of shell particles in fast liquid chromatography Determination of abused drugs in human biological matrices Analyses of isoflavones and flavonoids Therapeutic protein characterization Analysis of illicit drugs The final chapter of the book explores the use of UHPLC in drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics studies for traditional Chinese medicine. With its frank discussions of UHPLC's benefits and limitations, Ultra-High Performance Liquid Chromatography and Its Applications equips analytical scientists with the skills and knowledge needed to take full advantage of this new separation technology.
Introduction to Mass Spectrometry
by
Completely revised and updated, this text provides an easy–to–read guide to the concept of mass spectrometry and demonstrates its potential and limitations. Written by internationally recognised experts and utilising "real life" examples of analyses and applications, the book presents real cases of qualitative and quantitative applications of mass spectrometry. Unlike other mass spectrometry texts, this comprehensive reference provides systematic descriptions of the various types of mass analysers and ionisation, along with corresponding strategies for interpretation of data. The book concludes with a comprehensive 3000 references. This multi–disciplined text covers the fundamentals as well as recent advance in this topic, providing need–to–know information for researchers in many disciplines including pharmaceutical, environmental and biomedical analysis who are utilizing mass spectrometry
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
by
The Second Edition of the Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry pulls key information into a single source for quick access to answers and/or in-depth examination of topics. "SPEC-2" covers theory, methods, and applications for researchers, students, and professionals-combining proven techniques and new insights for comprehensive coverage of the field. The content is available in print and online via ScienceDirect, the latter of which offers optimal flexibility, accessibility, and usability through anytime, anywhere access for multiple users and superior search functionality. No other work gives analytical and physical (bio)chemists such unprecedented access to the literature. With 30% new content, SPEC-2 maintains the "authoritative, balanced coverage" of the original work while also breaking new ground in spectroscopic research. Incorporates more than 150 color figures, 5,000 references, and 300 articles (30% of which are new), for a thorough examination of the field Highlights new research and promotes innovation in applied areas ranging from food science and forensics to biomedicine and health Features a new co-editor: David Koppenaal of Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Washington, USA, whose work in atomic mass spectrometry has been recognized internationally
Encyclopedia of Chromatography, Third Edition (Print Version)
by
Thoroughly revised and expanded, the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Chromatographyis an authoritative source of information for researchers in chemistry, biology, physics, engineering, and materials science. This quick reference and guide to specific chromatographic techniques and theory provides a basic introduction to the science and technology of the method, offering key references dealing with the methodology for analysis of specific chemicals and applications in industry. With a focus on emerging technologies and uses, the text contains tables and figures that cogently illustrate and clarify technical points in the articles. The Third Editionprovides a valuable, reader-friendly reference for all those who employ chromatographic methods for analysis of complex mixtures of substances, as well as practitioners across the entire spectrum of science. What's New in the Third Edition: Bioanalysis: Silica- and Polymer-Based Monolithic Columns Bioluminescence: Detection in TLC Chemical Warfare Agent Degradation Products: HPLC/MS Analysis Chemical Warfare Agents: TLC Analysis Cyclodextrins in GC Cyclodextrins in HPLC Detection in Ion Chromatography Drug Development: LC/MS Flash Chromatography Food Analysis: Ion Chromatography Inorganic and Organic Cations: Ion Chromatographic Determination Inverse GC Multidimensional Separations Spiral Column Assembly for HSCCC Thin Layer Radiochromatography Topological Indices: TLC UV-Visible Detection Including Multiple Wavelengths ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options For more information, visit Taylor and Francis Online. Or contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Comprehensive Sampling and Sample Preparation
by
Comprehensive Sampling and Sample Preparation is a complete treatment of the theory and methodology of sampling in all physical phases and the theory of sample preparation for all major extraction techniques. It is the perfect starting point for researchers and students to design and implement their experiments and support those experiments with quality-reviewed background information. In its four volumes, fundamentals of sampling and sample preparation are reinforced through broad and detailed sections dealing with Biological and Medical, Environmental and Forensic, and Food and Beverage applications. The contributions are organized to reflect the way in which analytical chemists approach a problem. It is intended for a broad audience of analytical chemists, both educators and practitioners of the art and can assist in the preparation of courses as well in the selection of sampling and sample preparation techniques to address the challenges at hand. Above all, it is designed to be helpful in learning more about these topics, as well as to encourage an interest in sampling and sample preparation by outlining the present practice of the technology and by indicating research opportunities. Sampling and Sample preparation is a large and well-defined field in Analytical Chemistry, relevant for many application areas such as medicine, environmental science, biochemistry, pharmacology, geology, and food science. This work covers all these aspects and will be extremely useful to researchers and students, who can use it as a starting point to design and implement their experiments and for quality-reviewed background information There are limited resources that Educators can use to effectively teach the fundamental aspects of modern sample preparation technology. Comprehensive Sampling and Sample Preparation addresses this need, but focuses on the common principles of new developments in extraction technologies rather than the differences between techniques thus facilitating a more thorough understanding Provides a complete overview of the field. Not only will help to save time, it will also help to make correct assessments and avoid costly mistakes in sampling in the process Sample and sample preparation are integral parts of the analytical process but are often less considered and sometimes even completely disregarded in the available literature. To fill this gap, leading scientists have contributed 130 chapters, organized in 4 volumes, covering all modern aspects of sampling and liquid, solid phase and membrane extractions, as well as the challenges associated with different types of matrices in relevant application areas
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry
by
The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry provides a much needed professional level reference work for the 21st Century. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory (environmental, clinical, QC, research, university), in the field or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a lab protocol and together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry also enables preparation of procedures, protocols and "cookbooks" by managers and staff of laboratories. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry comprises over 600 articles, arranged alphabetically by topic, in approximately 14000 pages, in 15 volumes. Features: * Outstanding authorship and the highest calibre editors * Excellence of peer-review * Article Summaries * Over 6500 illustrations, many in colour * Extensive cross-referencing to facilitate navigation between articles * Extensive bibliographies with up-to-date references Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the essential cross-disciplinary reference work for all analytical chemists in academia and industry. All fields of chemical research are covered: analytical, organic, physical, polymer, inorganic biomedical, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial, petroleum, forensics and food science.
Handbook of Analytical Instruments
Analytical Instrumentation offers powerful qualitative and quantitative techniques for analysis in chemical, pharmaceutical, clinical, food-processing laboratories and oil refineries. This edition of the Handbook of Analytical Instruments describes the principles and building blocks of analytical instrumentation. Recent advances in bio-sensors, gamma spectrometry, electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrometry, visualization methods for electrophoresis and several other tools and techniques of analytical instrumentation have been covered. Also includes a discussion of analytical instruments from various manufacturers.
Handbook of Analytical Techniques
by
The "Handbook of Analytical Techniques" serves as a concise, one-stop reference source for every professional, researcher, or student using analytical techniques. All relevant spectroscopic, chromatographic, and electrochemical techniques are described, including chemical and biochemical sensors, as well as e. g. thermal analysis, bioanalytical, nuclear or radiochemical techniques. Special articles are devoted to general topics such as chemometrics, sampling, and sample preparation. All articles were written and reviewed by acknowledged experts. They cover the fundamentals, instrumentation, and applications of each technique. Numerous references for each article facilitate access to the primary literature. This two-volume handbook comprises almost 1,200 pages with more than 900 figures and has an attractive two-column page layout. It is the key source for problemsolving in all areas of analysis, e. g. of food, water, wastewater, air, soil, biomolecules, pharmaceuticals, or for materials characterization.
Handbook of Sample Preparation
by
Discover new keys to solving analytical problems using the Latest sample preparation methods Commonly viewed of as a routine task rather than as an integral component in the analytical process, sample preparation has long been undervalued as a science and underdeveloped as a technology. In an effort to reverse this trend, Handbook of Sample Preparation shows why sample preparation deserves closer scientific scrutiny, and makes a compelling case for colleges and professional laboratories to devote more resources to promote the benefits of its correct application. Handbook of Sample Preparation includes: A solid overview of standard sampling methodologies and their analytical capabilities An introduction of non-traditional sampling technologies, which address the need for solvent-free alternatives, automation, and miniaturization A discussion of the analytical shift toward performing sampling on-site, rather than in the laboratory An examination of various extraction technologies and their applications for different types of matrices A look at how to take advantage of new sampling strategies to streamline laboratory procedures, reduce research costs, and increase overall productivity An excellent primer on the fundamentals of extraction as well as a sound guide on the latest technological upgrades influencing current sampling techniques, this versatile text serves as an important and accessible tool for both students and seasoned practitioners as they seek new avenues for improving the accuracy of their analyses.
Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook
by
This essential on-the-job resource for the analytical chemist has been revised and updated with 40% new material. Readers will find all the conventional wet and instrumental techniques in one exhaustive reference along with all the critical data needed to apply them. Worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts are provided for easy access to the data. * The most up-to-date and complete guide to analytical chemistry available today * NEW: 3 major chapters on Analysis of Indoor Air, Analysis of Pesticides, Analysis of Trace Metals
Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry
by
The emerging field of green analytical chemistry is concerned with the development of analytical procedures that minimize consumption of hazardous reagents and solvents, and maximize safety for operators and the environment.nbsp; In recent years there have been significant developments in methodological and technological tools to prevent and reduce the deleterious effects of analytical activities; key strategies include recycling, replacement, reduction and detoxification of reagents and solvents. The Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry provides a comprehensive overview of the present state and recent developments in green chemical analysis. A series of detailed chapters, written by international specialists in the field, discuss the fundamental principles of green analytical chemistry and present a catalogue of tools for developing environmentally friendly analytical techniques. Topics covered include: Concepts: Fundamental principles, education, laboratory experiments and publication in green analytical chemistry. The Analytical Process: Green sampling techniques and sample preparation, direct analysis of samples, green methods for capillary electrophoresis, chromatography, atomic spectroscopy, solid phase molecular spectroscopy, derivative molecular spectroscopy and electroanalytical methods. Strategies: Energy saving, automation, miniaturization and photocatalytic treatment of laboratory wastes. Fields of Application: Green bioanalytical chemistry, biodiagnostics, environmental analysis and industrial analysis. This advanced handbook is a practical resource for experienced analytical chemists who are interested in implementing green approaches in their work. nbsp;