Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes to Articles
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Interface)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920 - 1999. The bibliography consists of 78 volumes, beginning in 1920 and issued annually; a number of items published between 1892 and 1919 have been indexed retrospectively.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400–1800
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Children's Literature Review
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to the European Middle Ages (c.500-1500 A.D.) covering periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, festschriften, and exhibition catalogs in Western European languages. Limiting search results to English language only items is possible. Searches may be conducted in English, French, or German.
To search only the IMB, uncheck IBHR at the top of the search form opposite where it says Free Search at the top.
Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Iter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
The find text at MSU feature is enabled in this database. Look for the red button “check for full text” above the individual records in the database.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of British and Irish History is the major index to secondary articles about British, Scottish, Welsh, Northern Irish, and Irish history. It also indexes primary sources. It is made available online by Brepolis, the online division of the Brepols publishing company, but is produced in partnership with the University of London, Institute of Historical Research and the Royal Historical Society. Originally, this was a print resource called Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History (catalog call no. Z 2016 .A55, located in the Library Remote Storage D), published 1975-2003. BBIH covers books, articles in collective volumes (including conference proceedings and festschriften)and journal articles. Primary source material is indexed as well as much secondary material.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics. It is updated monthly.
Full-text articles and reviews from over 480 journals (the Atla PLUS part)
Over 2.8 million records, including:
Indexing of 2300 plus journal titles in total, more than 1,000 of which are currently being indexed,
More than 276,000 essay records,
More than 940,000 review records,
More than 411,000 book records.
Once a stand-alone product specific to Catholicism (the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index), Atla CPLI content now enhances Atla RDB with the addition of more than 500,000 additional records.