Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Magill's Encyclopedia of Science, Plant Life [electronic resources] by
Call Number: QK7.M34 2002 Online
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
A scientific yet easy-to-understand survey of topics pertaining to the plant kingdom and botany classes, Plant Life surveys 379 topics, from cell structure to classification, to economic, medicinal, cultural, and environmental issues. [print requestable from remote storage]
Annual Review of Plant Biology [electronic resource]
Call Number: QK711.A1 A53 online
Publication Date: 1950-current
The Annual Review of Plant Biology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of Plant Biology, including Biochemistry and Biosynthesis, Genetics, Genomics and Molecular Biology, Cell Differentiation, Tissue, Organ and Whole Plant Events, Acclimation and Adaptation, and Methods and Model Organisms. Includes Annual Review of Plant Physiology (1950 - 1987) and Annual Review of Plant Physiology and Plant Molecular Biology (1988 - 2001).
Annual Review of Environment and Resources [electronic resource]
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 1976-current
The Annual Review of Environment and Resources, in publication since 1976, provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture and living resources, and human dimensions of resource use and global change. Includes Annual Review of Energy (1976 - 1990) and Annual Review of Energy and the Environment (1991 - 2002).
Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics [electronic resource]
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 1970-current
The Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics, in publication since 1970, covers significant developments in the fields of Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, and Systematics, as they apply to all life on Earth. Essay reviews cover topics ranging from phylogeny, speciation, and molecular evolution through behavior and evolutionary physiology to population dynamics, ecosystems processes, and applications in invasion biology, conservation, and environmental management. Includes Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics (1970 - 2002).
The American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers by
Call Number: SB403.2 .A46 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
Combining the authority of the AHS with the visual expertise of DK, this full-color gardening reference is the definitive guide for gardeners. Simply the definitive full-color reference to the horticulture of North America, AHS Encyclopedia of Plants & Flowers contains more than 8,000 plant profiles, over 4,250 photographs, and practical advice on everything from cultivation, pests, and diseases, to plant selection and identification
A to Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants by
Call Number: SB403.2 .A45 2004
Publication Date: 2004-10-18
With over 15,000 entries and updated from the original A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden, this is undoubtedly the most complete and authoritative garden plant guide ever published. Includes hundreds of new plants and photos.
American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening by
Call Number: SB450.95 .A45 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-08
An essential volume packed with authoritative advice for all gardeners, The American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening guides readers expertly through the latest gardening techniques, details information on garden planning and design, and covers useful tools and materials.
Dirr's Hardy Trees and Shrubs by
Call Number: SB435.5 .D556 1997 (Main and Reference collections)
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
This bestselling encyclopedia, illustrated with brilliant photographs, describes the best woody plants adapted to cooler climates, showing both habit and details of more than 500 species, and including some 700 additional cultivars and varieties. Brief cultural information is supplied for each plant, as well as Dirr's perceptive comments and opinions.
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards by
Call Number: Reference, 1 East: SB472 .L36 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-13
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards provides immediate access to rules-of-thumb and standards used throughout the planning, design, construction and management of landscapes. View sample pages from Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards.
Stearn's Dictionary of Plant Names for Gardeners by
Call Number: QK11 .S6 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-25
In this book Stearn gives the meaning and origin of some 6000 botanical names, selecting those most likely to be encountered by gardeners and horticulturists. No other single source provides so much etymological information for the gardener, the result of years of scholarship and original research by the distinguished author. Also listed are 3000 of the most widely accepted vernacular names, cross-indexed to their correct scientific names, an invaluable reference for gardeners, writers, and historians. Plant classification and binomial nomenclature are explained, and there are notes on the structure and pronunciation of botanical Latin. No other single source provides so much etymological information for the gardener.
Studies / Surveys / Data sets
Environmental lawn and garden survey [electronic resource] by
Call Number: SB433.15 .E583 2011 Online
Publication Date: 2011
A consumer research report that looks at how environmentally responsible consumers care for their lawns and gardens. It looks at the most important factors relating to current lawn and garden practices and consumers' interest in and demand for all-natural, organic lawn and garden products in the future. A representative sample of more than 2,000 households was surveyed. The reports include complete tables for each survey question, broken down by region of the country, gender, age, marital status, education, household size, presence of children in the household, and employment status of all respondents.
Hard times lawn & garden survey [electronic resource] by
Call Number: SB433.15 .H37 2010 Online
Publication Date: 2010
An original, 100-page report examining how in previous recessions the overall garden market held strong, but not in the current recession. It includes written commentary and complete tables for each survey question broken down by region of the country, gender, age, marital status, education, household income, household size, presence of children, and employment status.
National gardening survey. by
Call Number: SB450.9 .N38 Online
Publication Date: 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
The annual National Gardening Survey is the comprehensive market research report that leaders in the lawn and garden business count on each year to track the market and help them make strategic marketing decisions. Conducted annually since 1973, the Survey provides in-depth and up-to-date marketing information on industry trends, household participation, consumer profiles and retail sales.
What gardeners think, 2012 [electronic resource] by
Call Number: SB454.3.S63 W47 2012 Online
Publication Date: 2012
Reveals information about the types of gardeners in America, their attitudes, and what motivates them. Includes gardening by generation, attitudes about gardening, benefits of gardening, lawn and garden participation, spending, shopping in the economic downturn, and other information. Also includes complete tables for each survey question broken down by region of the country, gender, generation, age, marital status, education, household size, presence of children, and employment status.