Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images and Visual Arts
ARTstor is a digital image database containing over 1 million images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
A good place to start for ideas about and examples of visual arts.
Video and Film Sources
Watch over 30,000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank licenses and distributes feature film content to non-theatrical markets including U.S. colleges and universities. 1,000 contemporary and classic movies are available to MSU-affiliated viewers for non-commercial educational and personal streaming video access. Sub-title captioning is available on most films. Titles can be searched, and films are grouped in 17 categories for browsing.
Literature (including fiction)
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online (LION) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current.