Child Development Resources

Four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices.

This volume discusses the importance of positive schooling in producing responsible and potentially productive adults.

Four-volume reference spans the entire field of child development and has set the standard against which all other scholarly references are compared.

Now part of a two-volume set, the fully revised and updated second edition of The Wiley- Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development, Volume 1: Basic Research provides comprehensive coverage of the basic research relating to infant development.

Now part of a two-volume set, the fully revised and updated secondedition of The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of InfantDevelopment, Volume 2: Applied and PolicyIssues provides comprehensive coverage of the applied andpolicy issues relating to infant development. Updated, fully-revised and expanded, this two-volume setpresents in-depth and cutting edge coverage of both basic andapplied developmental issues during infancy Features contributions by leading international researchersand practitioners in the field that reflect the most currenttheories and research findings Includes editor commentary and analysis to synthesize thematerial and provide further insight The most comprehensive work available in this dynamic andrapidly growing field

Provides a compilation of research in Childhoodnature and brings together existing research themes and seminal authors in the field alongside new cutting-edge research authored by world-class researchers drawing on cross-cultural and international research data.

Reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world.

Highlights some of the most recent research in the field of developmental psychology.

Assembles leading scholars to address issues in children's cognitive, academic, and social development through the lens of evolutionary psychology.

Play takes up much of the time budget of young children, and many animals, but its importance in development remains contested. This comprehensive collection brings together multidisciplinary and developmental perspectives on the forms and functions of play in animals, children in different societies, and through the lifespan.

This book draws critical attention to policy in Early Childhood Education and Care (ECEC), its relationship to service provision, and its impact on the lives of children and families.