Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MSU Theses and Dissertations
This collection contains over 35,000 ETDs written at MSU dating from 1899 to the present. These are freely available without an MSU login.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Comprehensive collection of fulltext dissertations and theses since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for earlier periods. Includes MSU dissertations and theses.
Open Access to United States-Published Theses and Dissertations
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1,100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 4,517,398 theses and dissertations.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Started by Virginia Tech University, this is a global database of over 5 million electronic theses and dissertations.
Launched in 2007, this site contains ProQuest's open access electronic theses and dissertations.
American Doctoral Dissertations
Provides free, full text access to American dissertations. Previously available in print as Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities
OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center
Browse electronic theses and dissertations from over 30 participating colleges and universities in the state of Ohio. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.
Open Access to Internationally Published Theses and Dissertations
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
A listing of open access repositories for electronic theses and dissertations. May be further limited by country and software type.
Theses Canada Portal
Over 50,000 electronic theses and dissertations are available from the Library and Archives Canada's collection. For full-text, select "Electronic theses" on the search screen.
British Library EThOS
Individuals may login and search this database of over 480,000 British doctoral theses. Some theses may be available on an open access basis. For others, individuals may need to request the item through interlibrary loan or wait for digitization.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Over 780,000 full-text electronic theses and dissertations are available from 613 participating universities in 28 European countries.
National Library of Australia's Trove
Trove is a free repository of Australian material, including almost a million Australian theses. To search for electronic theses and dissertations, go to "Advanced search" and select "Thesis" from the "Format" options.
Finding MSU Theses and Dissertations in the Catalog
- Start at the Catalog Advanced Search.
- Choose "THESES AND DISSERTATIONS" under Location
- In the search boxes at the top of the page, change the "any field" option to search for author, a subject or a title. Or, you can search by MSU department or college, such as "educational policy" or "chemical engineering."
- Enter a date range under "Within" if desired.
- Click "Submit" to return your results.
Theses and Dissertations About MSU