Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Elections Commission
See how candidates and committees raise and spend money in federal elections. This financial data helps voters make informed decisions.
Follow the Money
Tracks contributions and expenditures for candidates, PACs, committees, ballot measures, and independent expenditures for each state.
This independent website tracks the influence of money on politics and public policy. Data and analysis is provided for presidential and congressional elections, congressional committee members, personal financial disclosures, travel, political parties, industries, lobbying, political action committees and 527s.
Call Number: JK1967 .A8
Official, state-certified election returns by county and by district for the House, Senate and gubernatorial elections, including key data on the presidential election. 1956-2016.
U.S. Election Assistance Commission
The EAC studies election administration issues. EAC datasets for selected reports are available for download.
United States Election Project
The mission of the project is to provide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the United States electoral system.
Voting and Registration
Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the United States Census Bureau Current Population Survey.
Polls and Surveys
American National Election Studies
ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Free registration is required to view and download data.
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data from the Gallup World Poll.
Polling the Nations
Most comprehensive collection of public opinion, from the United States and more than 80 other countries. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues.
Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American public opinion published in a book format (American Public Opinion Index). Over the years the database expanded to include surveys in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia, in an electronic format.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.