Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General and Comprehensive Resources
Almanac of American Politics This link opens in a new window
National Journal's The Almanac of American Politics 2004 is the best source for understanding our changing political landscape and what it means for you.
Every congressional district has been altered, one third have been completely redrawn and twelve districts are brand new. Plus, there are 54 new House members, 10 new Senators and 24 new governors.
In nearly 2,000 pages, renowned political author Michael Barone profiles every senator, representative and governor, as well as the people and politics of every state and congressional district.
The Almanac also provides interest group ratings, census data, key votes, campaign expenditures, election results and much more.
Published every two years, the Almanac 2004 has been completely redesigned with an improved layout, updated district maps and even more statistics.
The online edition also contains links to the 2002, 2000 and 1998 editions.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (1815-2016) This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CNTS) is a longitudinal set of 194 variables with data for over 200 county units for the period 1815-2016 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945). The CNTS data was originally published by Arthur S. Banks at the State University of New York at Binghamton in 1968 and was based on data from the Statesman's Yearbook. Variables cover economic, political, population and demographic variables. Emphasis is on political regime and systems data.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Search this site for holdings. Data downloads are free of charge by registering with an MSU email address.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Replaces the Census Bureau publication (1878-2012).
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Includes ProQuest Statistical Datasets and the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [It is the WWW version of 3 print indexing sources: American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference Index (SRI).] Links to selected full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. The Library owns almost all the materials indexed in ProQuest Statistical Insight.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods and services, sports, technology, transportation, and much more.
Text Assembler (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Text Assembler enables construction and bulk download of full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires, web-based news publications, broadcast news transcripts, magazines, and legal and trade publications published between 1980 and the present.