Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Spanish American Literature: A Guide to Selected Resources: Bibliographies

General bibliographies

A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish American Literature: Twentieth Century Sources. Walter Rela, comp. (Bibliographies and Indexes in World Literature, 13.) New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
[PQ7081 .R438 1988 Main Stacks]

Flores, Angel. Bibliografía de escritores hispanoamericanos, 1609-1974: A Bibliography of Spanish- American Bibliographies. New York: Gordian Press, 1975.
[Z1609 .L7 F55 Main Stacks]

Includes 180 authors, lists authors' publications, including different editions; cites bibliographies of their works and some criticism.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1935- . Annual.
[Z 1601 .H23 Main Stacks]

The oldest area studies bibliography, the Handbook has been issued annually since 1935, with volumes alternating between coverage in the social sciences and humanities. The print format, though not as current, offers the advantages of ease of browsing. Bibliographic and "state of the research" essays precede each discipline chapter.

HLAS Online

HLAS Online includes all published volumes as well as newer content at a “preliminary editorial stage,” meaning citations may be incomplete, and frequently lack annotation. The introductory essays for volumes 1-49 of the Handbook are also searchable in HLAS Online. To search only the essays, use the "Annotation and HLAS Chapter Introduction" field in the Expert Search form.

The Handbook Essays, 1990-2003

The essays for vols. 50 (1990)- 59 (2003) are hard linked from the volume Tables of Contents on this page. The essays for vols. 60-63 (2005-2008) are only available in the print volumes.

Zubatsky, David S. Latin American Literary Authors: An Annotated Guide to Bibliographies. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1986.
[PQ7081 .Z8 1986 Main Stacks]

An excellent resource. Cites bibliographies in books, journals, dissertations, and Festschrift volumes.

CCILA

The Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos hasta 1851

"A database created from transcribed bibliographies."

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter, Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Michigan State University