MSU Map Library: Links to Useful Sites: Worldwide

Large collection of scanned maps, including a lot of general reference maps from the CIA.

A finding aid to scanned map sets from various libraries including University of Texas-Austin and University of Florida.

A finding aid to scanned map sets from various libraries including University of Texas-Austin and University of Florida.

The CIA creates simple letter-sized (8.5" x 11") maps of countries of the world. These page-size base maps are in the public domain. They may be copied freely without permission of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

A large collection of scanned maps produced 1491 to the present. From Cornell University's map collection, the persuasions relate to various topics including religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social. A variety of persuasive techniques are used, including allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective exclusion; unusual use of projections, color, graphics and text; and intentional deception.

Weather Undergrounds's interactive map of current weather conditions.

The commission for environmental cooperation, including Natural Resources Canada; Mexico's National Institute of Statistics and Geography; and the U.S. Geological Survey – created harmonized base map layers of political boundaries, populated places, roads and railroads, coastlines, lakes and rivers, and other features provide a consistent framworkto depict layers for renewable energy capacity, priority conservation areas, and other environmental themes.

An archive of many open data products such as digital elevation models, historic and contemporary polar maps, and historic aerial photography. The open data is available at no cost.

Soviet Union and Afghanistan topographic maps at 1:200,000. Special thanks to Chris Thiry at Colorado School of Mines.

This resource provides access to historical maps of Vietnam, with so overlap into neighboring countries of Cambodia, Laos, and Thailand.

Scanned maps produced by the Survey of India from 1750 to present day. These maps cover modern day Iran, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, and Myanmar.

Vector datasets traced from Michelin Road maps for 1960, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, and 2021. Downloadable as a shapefile

AfricaMap is based on the Harvard University Geospatial Infrastructure (HUG) platform, and was developed by the Center for Geographic Analysis to make spatial data on Africa easier for researchers to discover and explore

This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies (or the Africana Library) at Northwestern University. Images are not available for download.

The Atlas of Canada provides authoritative, current and accessible geographic information products at a national level. Working with partners, the Atlas facilitates the integration and analysis of diverse data in order to increase overall knowledge about Canada.

[MSU Map library has older editions of the paper Atlas of Canada]

GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific and technical publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada. It indexes about 50,000 pubications. Some are owned by MSU Libraries and some not. Check holdings in the Libraries' online catalog and also check with the MSU Map Library.

Use an interactive viewer (via Atlas of Canada) to view detailed topographic information. Find here also links to information on downloading or purchasing maps. [The MSU Map library also houses an extensive collection of paper topographic maps of Canada at 1:250,000 and 1:50,000.]

GeologyOntario provides access to the information holdings of the Ontario Geological Survey. Rich spatial and attribute search functionality facilitates discovery of information in over 85,000 reports and 168,000 maps from OGS publications and client submitted mining assessment files. In addition, hundreds of digital products containing field data, geophysical surveys, geochemical analyses and geochronological measurements.

Maps of the Caribbean from 1507 through 2010. Includes some JOBs and modern topographic maps. You may zoom in and see great detail, but there are no saving options.