Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Catalogs and Indexes
MSU Libraries' Catalog
A searchable listing of items at the MSU Libraries, as well as the Library of Michigan, including US government documents published after 1976. Documents published prior to 1976 are included, but some are not.
Includes print, microfiche and online documents.
Advanced Search: Catalog
Catalog of US Government Publications
Catalog of government documents and information distributed by the Government Printing Office since 1976 and selected older documents. Includes links to online documents. Documents not available from the MSU Libraries are usually available from the Library of Michigan or ILL.
WorldCat contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings.
Guide to U.S. Government publications
Lists government serials and series publications. Provides agency chronologies and traces changes in government and agency organization and publications over time.
Z1223.Z7 G82 MSU Main Library, Center Reference
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications: MetaLib
Search across over 50 U.S. federal government agency databases from Data.gov to Index to Military Periodicals to TreeSearch.
National Archives: Online Public Access
Searches the Archival Research Catalog (ARC) for catalog descriptions, histories and biographies; Access to Archival Databases (AAD) for electronic records; Archives.gov; one million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives, which are not available elsewhere online.
GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
This guide lists acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the United States federal government. Each acronym is defined and links to the home page (or best alternative) of the identified department, agency, office, program or publication.
While Appendix A of the U.S. Government Manual provided the foundation of GovSpeak, this expanded list includes hundreds of acronyms not included in that publication; most have been discovered by manual reviews of department websites. Links are checked and updated monthly.
Please note: as of June 2011, GovSpeak no longer includes military acronyms. Please see instead the DoD Dictionary of Military Terms
Popular Names of U.S. Government Reports
Since many government publications become known by short titles that appear nowhere on the piece, and since libraries catalog them under institutional titles, a device for
tying the two together is needed. The present catalog is the fourth edition of a work the Library of Congress first issued in 1966.”
…. From the Foreword. Donald F. Wisdom, Chief, Serial and Government Publications Division.
Specialized Indexes and Full Text Databases
Includes congressional committee hearings, prints, documents and reports, the Serial Set, CRS reports and the Congressional Record full text online. Searching tips
Proquest Statistical Insights
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Links to full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. Indexed publications are also available in the Documents department (3West) in paper or fiche.
NTIS National Technical Information Service
This growing collection, including millions of publications and technical materials from U.S. federal agencies, industry and university contractors with the federal government. Full text for many of the reports is available online after users create a free personal account. You may also use ILL to access reports that are not available electronically..
FDsys (formerly known as GPO Access) is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government, including Presidential Documents, the Congressional Record, Congressional bills and laws and regulations. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from FDsys can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.