Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Useful Information Sources
- Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence databases
Set of resources focusing on violence and violence prevention. Searchable by literature, programs, evaluation tools, and other resources like videos and curricula materials.
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
- CDC Wonder
Searchable compilation of Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. Portal to several CDC databases concerning health-related topics for public health information and numerical data sets such as AIDS/STDs, risk behaviors (the Behavioral Risk Surveillance System), mortality and natality statistics.
- MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Published weekly and annual statistical reports on specific diseases as reported by state and some at the city level.
- Data & Statistics
Links to scientific data, surveillance, health statistics and laboratory information.
- Healthy People 2010 Information Access Project
Developed by the National Library of Medicine and the Public Health Foundation (PHF). Provides links to pre-formulated (filtered) PubMed searches for selected Healthy People 2010 objectives, links to chapters in Healthy People 2010, relevant guidelines, and MEDLINEplus topics. Healthy People 2010 is a prevention agenda for the United States composed of national health objectives designed to establish goals to reduce significant preventable threats to health.
- Health People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
- Native Health Research Database
The Native Health Databases focuses on the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
Covers articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues Maintained by the Population Information Program at the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health and USAID.
This is a US government website "dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
History of Public Health
The Rise of Public Health in England and Wales - Collects historic newspaper articles from the dawn and infancy of Public Health as a discipline. Use the "Search within the collection" to look for materials within this specific collection.
Public Health Guides from MSU Libraries
Health Sciences Librarian