Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free/Open International Public Health Resources
African Index Medicus
The Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization has produced an international index to African health literature and information sources.
GenderStats: World Bank Database of Gender Statistics
GenderStats is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
GHO, is part of the the WHO Statistical Information System, is an interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States. This is the best place, and often only place to locate global health data. It comprises more than 70 indicators, which can be accessed by way of a quick search, by major categories, or through user-defined tables. The data can be further filtered, tabulated, charted and downloaded.
World Health Report
The World Health Report, first published in 1995, is WHO's leading publication. Each year the report combines an expert assessment of global health, including statistics relating to all countries, with a focus on a specific subject.
Collect, compile and disseminates data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 200 surveys in over 75 countries. Compiled by USAID.
Measure DHS Data Center
The statistical arm of the DHS, great resource for country health information.
One of the major gatherers and compilers of international data. They include development and health indicators as well as country financial data.
Subscription Databases for International Public Health (via MSU Libraries)
Global Health including Archive This link opens in a new window
Global Health is a specialist international public health database. It includes significant unique content particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology. It contains abstracts from international publications and the Global Health Archive 1912-1983.
PRISMA This link opens in a new window
An index to social science and humanities journal literature about Latin America, the Caribbean and U.S. Hispanic populations. More than 650 journals are indexed, with 200 titles currently available in full-text. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese and searches may also be conducted in all three languages.
Health Sciences Librarian