LibGuides: Advertising &amp; Public Relations: Articles & Journals

Finding Articles about Advertising and Public Relations

These resources will help you find articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers about advertising and public relations focused topics, including information on companies, industries, and brands.

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist. Also has videos, ebooks, and company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and analyst reports from J.P. Morgan.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC provides indexing and abstracting for more than 600 publications, and includes selected full-text coverage for more than 240 journals in communications, mass media, and related fields. Topics include (among many others) health communication, gender and communication, communication theory, and mass media.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from business and trade journals covering all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only 6 users at a time.**
Provides full-text articles from leading business newspapers, magazines, and wire services worldwide, including The Wall Street Journal. Also provides company, industry, and market information.

Scholarly & Trade Journals

The MSU Libraries provide access to the following journals and trade publications through our databases and subscriptions.

Advertising

Advertising Age
An advertising trade publication; a global media brand focused on curated creativity, data, analysis, people & culture, and innovation & forecasting. A must-read for influential decision makers and disruptors across the marketing and media landscape.
AdWeek
An advertising trade publication; the leading source of news and insight serving the brand marketing ecosystem. Engaging content for professionals across print, digital, events, podcasts, newsletters, social media and mobile apps.
International Journal of Advertising
The International Journal of Advertising (IJA) includes advertising and media, direct marketing, sales promotions, sponsorship, public relations and integrated marketing communications (IMC).
Journal of Advertising
A peer reviewed journal, the Journal of Advertising is devoted to the development of advertising theory and its relationship to practice.

Public Relations

Journal of Public Relations Research
A peer reviewed journal. Publishes research that creates, tests, or expands public relations theory.
Public Relations Journal
A peer reviewed, open access scholarly journal. Presented by the Institute for Public Relations & the Public Relations Society of America and dedicated to offering the latest public relations & communication-based research to connect academia & the practice.
Public Relations Review
A peer reviewed journal. The oldest journal devoted to articles that examine public relations in depth, and commentaries by specialists in the field. Most of the articles are based on empirical research undertaken by professionals and academics in the field.
Corporate Communications
Corporate Communications: An International Journal (CCIJ) addresses the issues arising from the increased awareness that an organization's communications are part of the whole organization, and that the relationship an organization has with its external public requires careful management.

Marketing

Journal of Consumer Research
1974 - present, within Business Source Complete
Journal of Marketing
Journal of Marketing Research
1964 - present, within Business Source Complete
Journal of Retailing
The Journal of Retailing is devoted to advancing the state of knowledge and its application with respect to all aspects of retailing, its management, evolution, and current theory.
Marketing Science
A peer reviewed journal. Reviewed by prestigious scholars in the field of marketing science, articles often feature game theory, econometrics, multivariate analysis, econometric modeling, and choice models. Topics covered include advertising, buyer behavior, forecasting, market research, pricing and promotions, and more.

Subject Guide

Alexandra Hauser

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

648 N. Shaw Lane, Room 50
East Lansing, MI 48824

517-884-6679

Subjects: Business, Labor Relations and Human Resources

MSU Libraries

William C. Gast Business Library