Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books in the MSU Libraries
To find books in the MSU Libraries, use the online catalog. Search by author, title, or keyword. Books are shelved by Library of Congress call number. Mathematics/statistics call numbers generally begin with QA.
- Mathematics Education: QA11
- Algebra: QA150 - 272.5
- Statistics and Probability: QA273 - 280
- Analysis: QA299.6 - 433
- Geometry and Topology: QA440 - 699
- Analytic Mechanics: QA801 - 939
MSU Libraries provides access to many electronic books. Look in the library catalog to find them. Included are e-books from:
This online library meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines. From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data.
Dictionary of Statistics
Oxford University Press, 2nd rev. ed. Over 2,000 entries on all aspects of statistics including terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, as well as biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals and societies.
Statistics Books in the Main Library
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences by
Call Number: QA276.14 .E5 2006
Comprehensive compilation of information about "topics concerned with statistical theory and the applications of statistical methods." Most entries are signed and include bibliographic references.
Reference books provide a brief overiview of a subject and are a good place to start your research.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by
Call Number: QA276.14 .E84 2002
Provides concise definitions for over 3,000 statistical terms and concepts. Also includes over 100 short biographies.
New Cambridge Statistical Tables by
Call Number: QA276.25 .L56 1995
Contains all the tables likely to be required for elementary statistical methods in the social, business and natural sciences.
Statistical Rules of Thumb by
Call Number: QA276.12 .V36 2002
Easy-to-use reference book that discusses statistical rules and their justifications.