Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Is A Primary Source?
An online tutorial about different types of primary sources
Primary Sources in Film Studies
- Locating Movies at the MSU Libraries
The Digital and Multimedia Center is where to find dvds and other
formats for watching of feature films. You can search the library
catalog for movies, and either limit search by material type (videos)
or location (D/MC). You can also extend searches to MeL, for materials not owned by MSU.
- Press Books and Souvenir Books
MSU Libraries' Special Collections has a large collection of press
books and souvenir programs from motion picture history. There is also
a large microfilm set of Cinema Pressbooks from the Warner Bros.
studios. See links to catalog records below.
- Latinos in Film
The collection contains approximately 590 pieces of rare movie
ephemera -- promotional photographs, posters, lobby cards, photoplay
book editions, campaign books, press kits and television/movie scripts
-- dating from the silent film era to 2005.
- German Press Books
This collection is comprised of over 650 titles from throughout
the twentieth century. Printed in German, these press books were
published to advertise movies in Germany from various countries,
including the United States, Britain, France, and Germany.
- Cinema Pressbooks from the Original Studio Collections
This is a microfilm set, located on 2W of the Main Library. For
a guide to this set see: http://catalog.lib.msu.edu/record=b3925099~S39a
- More Press books in Special Collections
Use an LC Subject Search in the MSU Libraries' catalog for MOTION PICTURE PROGRAMS.
Other Primary Sources:
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000: "(Women and Social Movements) is intended to serve as a resource for
students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history.
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S.
between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates
and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of
women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities,
colleges, and high schools. The database includes more than 25,000
pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements, a
dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S.
women's history, and teaching tools with lesson ideas and
document-based questions related to the website's document projects."
- Black Thought and Culture
Approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles,
speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community
from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for
research in black studies, political science, American history, music,
literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick
Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter
G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington,
Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph
Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston
Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.
ARTstor is a digital image database containing approximately 400,000
images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of
art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as
specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design
Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
- Black Studies Center : Primary resources include full runs of several historical black newspapers, photographs within text of articles, streaming video, and more.
American Memory Project
Rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States - more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
MSU American Radicalism Collection - Digital Images
The American Radicalism Collection holds over 17,000 items. It includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemeral material some of which are reporoduced here in digital form. The material covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues in America. The emphasis in the collection is on materials produced by radical groups - both left and right.