Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Transportation Statistics: United States

Michigan

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

State Transportation Statistics
A series of reports from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics.  These reports highlight "
major federal databases and other national sources related to each state's infrastructure, safety, freight movement and passenger travel, vehicles, economy and finance, and energy and the environment. Along with tables generated for each state, the reports describe databases and give information on access, formats, and contact points."

Michigan Department of Transportation
You must enter by broad topic to look for statistics as reports with statistical data are scattered throughout the site.  For example:

MI Travel Counts

"In 2015, MDOT, in cooperation with the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments, conducted a third wave of MI Travel Counts. More than 25,000 randomly selected households across the state participated in the survey by providing household demographic information and then reporting their travel for one day. In addition, ten percent of the households carried a GPS unit for a three-day period. The data from the 2015 survey has been analyzed and the final Methodology Report and Travel Characteristics Report are now available below. There is also a shorter Highlights document that focuses on some of the key findings from the survey."

Traffic Crashes
Includes crash data by state and county.

Michigan State Police

Drunk Driving Audit

Traffic Crash Statistics
Includes crashes by county and holiday crash statistics.

Traffic Safety Research
Direct observation surveys of seat belt use, child restraints, motorcycle protective gear, etc.

University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute

UMTRI is dedicated to achieving safe and sustainable transportation for a global society. With a multimillion-dollar research program, broad faculty expertise, and multiple collaborators, UMTRI is committed to interdisciplinary research that will ultimately increase driving safety and further transportation systems knowledge.

Michigan Traffic Crash Facts
This web site provides accident quick facts, historical information, special focus like running red lights and heavy trucks/buses, age, alcohol, deer, crash - circumstances common to all traffic units in a crash, vehicle/driver - characteristics specific to individual traffic units, and occupant/person - specific information on each driver and injured person in a crash.

U.S. Government Agencies

U.S. Department of Transportation

Federal Highway Administration

Index of Publications 
Look here for a list of most data and reports that are currently available online by subject and study title.

National Bridge Inventory

Highway Statistics Series
Consists of annual reports containing analyzed statistical data on motor fuel; motor vehicles; driver licensing; highway-user taxation; State and local government highway finance; highway mileage, and Federal aid for highways. This data is presented in tabular format as well as selected charts and has been published each year since 1945. 

National Household Travel Survey
Formerly the Nationwide Personal Transportation Survey (NPTS), serves as the nation's inventory of personal travel. It is the only authoritative source of national data on personal travel behavior including purpose of the trip, means of transportation, trip length, day of week and month of the year, number of people on trip, and a host of other trip-making characteristics.

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

National Center for Statistics and Analysis
Responsible for providing a wide range of analytical and statistical support to NHTSA and the highway safety community at large.  The reports and data cover topics including accident trends, crashes, vehicles, people, and states. The Traffic Safety Facts Annual Report gives good information and is a good starting point to see what information is available. Also available is data on Vehicle Safety Research.

Fatality Analysis Reporting System
A nationwide census providing NHTSA, Congress and the American public yearly data regarding fatal injuries suffered in motor vehicle traffic crashes.

Research and Innovative Technology Administration

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Data is available by mode (aviation, maritime, highway, transit, rail, pipeline, bike/pedestrian, etc) and subject (safety, freight transport, passenger travel, infrastructure, economic/financial, social/demographic, energy, environment, and national security. Databases, graphs, and tables display the information.

U.S. Department of Energy

Energy Information Administration
Provides policy-neutral data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.

Petroleum Data

Transportation Energy Consumption Surveys
EIA conducts numerous energy-related surveys and other information programs. In general, the surveys can be divided into two broad groups: supply surveys, directed to the suppliers and marketers of specific energy sources, that measure the quantities of specific fuels produced for and/or supplied to the market; and consumption surveys, which gather information on the types of energy used by consumer groups along with the consumer characteristics that are associated with energy use.

National Transportation Research Center

The National Transportation Research Center houses several highly-sophisticated, experimental ORNL research laboratories that constitute the Department of Energy's (DOE) National Transportation Research Center User Facility (NTRC).

Transportation Energy Data Book
"In January 1976, the Transportation Energy Conservation (TEC) Division of the Energy Research and Development Administration contracted with Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) to prepare a Transportation Energy Conservation Data Book to be used by TEC staff in their evaluation of current and proposed conservation strategies. The major purposes of the Data Book were to draw together, under one cover, transportation data from diverse sources, to resolve data conflicts and inconsistencies, and to produce a comprehensive document...Policymakers and analysts need to be well-informed about activity in the transportation sector. The organization and scope of the data book reflect the need for different kinds of information. For this reason, Edition 37 updates much of the same type of data that is found in previous editions."

U.S. Census Bureau

Economic Census
Look here for financial statistics on the Transportation & Warehousing Industry (NAICS code 48-49).

Journey to Work and Place of Work
Commuter characteristics collected in the Population Census.

Census Transportation Planning Products
A set of special tabulations from decennial census demographic surveys designed for transportation planners.

Transportation Publications
"Transportation data range from the size of truck fleets to the cost of public warehousing. People use the data to analyze passenger and commodity traffic; calculate fuel consumption; and locate stores, improve highways, and the like where traffis is heaviest. People also use the data in determining investing in equipment and service facilities, and planning parking and shuttle connections."

Automotive Industry

Wards Automotive Yearbook
Trade statistics.  Print only (Business Library).

Automotive News
Trade publication, often publishes statistical tables and puts out a yearly market data issue.  Available in print or electronic format.

Automotive News Data Center
This resource provides data on the automotive industry including automotive and brands sales, production, prices, and used car data.
**Available only in the Business Library at the selected resources computers. Access is allowed for only one user at a time. See staff at the circulation desk who will log you in.**  Limited content available freely online.

HybridCars.com
The Hybrid Market Dashboard provides statistics on hybrid car sales by model.

Michigan State University