Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researchers use periodical indexes to identify scholarly articles in the periodical literature of history. Recently written periodical articles often offer the most recent, most up-to-date interpretations of historical events, issues, places, and persons.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada. It has selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. The database also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly historical articles about the Modern period (1450 to the present) in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of British and Irish History is the major index to secondary articles about British, Scottish, Welsh, Northern Irish, and Irish history. It also indexes primary sources. It is made available online by Brepolis, the online division of the Brepols publishing company, but is produced in partnership with the University of London, Institute of Historical Research and the Royal Historical Society. Originally, this was a print resource called Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History, Main stacks Z 2016 .A55, published 1975-2003. BBIH covers books, articles in collective volumes (including conference proceedings and festschriften)and journal articles. Primary source material is indexed as well as much secondary material.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.