Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Nursing

Analysis of the Subject Field

A. Chronology of the Subject

The emphasis is on current practice and policies. The journal literature reflects the cumulative body of nursing knowledge.

B. Languages of Resources Collected

Only English language material is collected. Translations are seldom selected.

C. Geography of the Subject

The emphasis is on North America, although materials from the UK and other English-speaking countries are considered.

D. Format of the Resources Collected
Included in the collection are serials, textbooks, databases, point-of-care tools, online video and image resources, encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, proceedings, government publications, bibliographies, board and exam preparation study materials, and materials relating to United States-based certification, licensure, and specialized education/training.

Research data

Research data particularly data that is not already openly available or that cannot/will not be placed in existing research data repositories - may be collected.  HIPAA privacy laws may preclude the collection of clinical data. For additional guidelines, please see MSU's Digital Research Data Collection Development Policy

Images, Streaming Media, and Audio-Visual Materials

Image banks and streaming media may be purchased, if available, upon faculty request. Streaming media is given priority when it will be used in a classroom setting for an educational purchase. Popular films and documentaries are acceptable genres if they fit a predetermined curricular need. Physical format AV materials are collected rarely.

Textbooks

Textbooks for undergraduate and graduate education are collected mostly in electronic formats. A small number of core print textbooks are purchased.

Not Collected

The following are usually not collected: theses, catalogs, programmed texts, laboratory manuals, spiral bound works, pocket-sized books, ephemera, self-published works, and materials appropriate only for Murray and Hong Special Collections.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected

The emphasis is on current publications. Material older than five years is seldom considered unless gaps in significant series are being filled.

F. Special Topics Collected & Diversity/Inclusion Considerations

Diversity & Inclusion

Purchasing materials by and about diverse population is a core collection component for nursing. Under-represented populations in nursing and medical research are a key area of research and concern by the College. Collections decisions place importance on who is being represented in medical literature, cultural competency in medical practice, and support, valuing, and purchasing materials that introduce the unique perspectives and needs of under-served and marginalized communities. Diversity in nursing collection development can encompass, but are not limited to, the areas of underrepresented: races, ethnicities, sexualities, ages, gender expressions and identities, cultural and religious identities, socioeconomic class, US geographical location, and nationalities.

Michigan State University