Collection Development Policy Statement: Geography

A. Trends in publishing

Most scholarly book publishing is acquired by the library through package deals with vendors and vendor distributors. Most books are not selected individually by the subject librarian but are shipped according to parameters set for subject matter and scholarly merit.  These package deals are set up to arrive either as ebooks or in paper format at the macro level, not on a title-by-title basis. The subject librarian works around these deals seeking out works from smaller presses and on emerging topics. Journal subscriptions are handled similarly, with some being part of large publisher deals and others selected title-by-title.

B. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

1. Along with history and philosophy, one may study the geography of nearly every other topic under the sun. This is especially true in the sciences and social sciences. Therefore, the geography collection necessarily has a tie with several other library collections. In particular, the geography bibliographer will coordinate purchases of geographic materials with bibliographers in African Studies, Agriculture, Asian studies, Business, Canadian Studies, Environmental Science, Park and Recreation Resources, Landscape Architecture, Ethnic Studies, Geology, Government (primarily Michigan, U.S., Canada, UN, and European Union), History, International Studies, Latin American Studies, Law, Linguistics, Political Science, Public Policy, Religion, European Studies, and Sociology.
2. Regional resources. Michigan State University has the top geography department in the state. University of Michigan does not have a geography department. Wayne State University has a "Department of Geography and Urban Planning" which has about eleven faculty. Western Michigan University teaches Geography to the M.A. level with about 15 faculty. Ferris State University has no Geography Department (classes are taught in the 'Social Sciences Department') but does has an active GIS certificate program in the Technology Department. University of Michigan has a large map collection and collects more deeply in old and rare maps that MSU does.

C. Chronological Factors MSU Libraries' collection development in geography and maps largely focus on contemporary materials, acquiring antiquities only when they intersect with a topic of particular interest to the university, such as the settling and farming of Michigan. Historical treatment of a topic is almost always collected.

D. Languages:
Materials on geographic theory and study are collected with a preference to English.  As works on foreign countries may be published in the vernacular, the geography librarian will consult with the appropriate area studies librarian on some foreign language acquisitions.

E. Format of the resources collected: restrictions if any

Print and online electronic are the major formats of collection in this discipline. The need for currency and supporting off-campus work in research is leading to increasing availability of electronic resources. 

F. Date of publication of resources collected: emphases if any

Emphasis is on collecting current imprints, however historical observations of geographic patterns remain useful. The importance of the field to many disciplines means that it will be important to acquire electronic access to major historic sources as they become available.

G. Data Collection

MSU Libraries can collect commercially available datasets when satisfactory contracts can be made with vendors. Both quantitative and qualitative data in any format will be considered. For local guidelines on data collection see our libguide on Digital Research Data Collection. Other possible depositories to store and share your data for psychological research are ICPSR from the University of Michigan and the Harvard Dataverse Network. 

H. Diversity, Equity, Inclusion 

We seek out historically underrepresented and marginalized voices, identities, and perspectives to diversify and fill gaps in our collections and participate in dismantling racism, sexism, and other biases. In the field of geography this includes collecting works and supporting research on accessible, equitable, and inclusive geography including addressing the identification and impact of bias and the effects of intersectionality on  health. We also seek relevant works authored by scholars from under-represented minorities and from the global South.