Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Linguistics

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

Anticipated Future Trends  


Due to the establishment of the Cognitive Science program at MSU in 1999, with which several linguistics faculty members are affiliated, there is increased need for linguistics materials as part of this inter-disciplinary area.   Beginning 2003, new courses and new faculty members (in Linguistics and in Computer Science and Engineering) specializing in computational linguistics and natural language processing increased the need for linguistic corpora and materials in computational linguistics.   With the establishment of the Ph.D. program in Second Language Studies in Fall 2005, the collection in second language acquisitions/studies will continue to be strengthened.  

Relationships with Other Resources 


On Campus Branch or Format Collections, if any not applicable at present.
Regional or Network Resources, if any not applicable at present.  

Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statement  


Education: Titles on the topics of English language teaching in K-12 and American Sign Language are forwarded to the education bibliographer.  

Area Studies: Titles on the topics of linguistic treatments and language teaching of languages other than English, and linguistics titles written in languages other than English, will be recommended to the appropriate area study bibliographers. Some important non-English language materials may be purchased by area study bibliographers, such as dictionaries and linguistic atlases.  

Ethnic Studies: Titles on the topics of linguistic treatments and language teaching of Native American languages, especially those spoken in Michigan, will be recommended to the ethnic studies bibliographer.  

Medicine: Titles on language cognition, aphasia and neurolinguistics that focus more on the physiological aspect of the brain will be recommended to the human medicine bibliographer.  

Engineering: Titles on computational linguistics that focus more on the programming aspect will be recommended to the engineering bibliographer.    

Michigan State University