Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Wider World, Bibliographically
To identify and locate materials on topics where M.S.U. Libraries does not have much, you can try these strategies.
Center for Research Libraries
This research guide has a separate page about the Center for Research Libraries, here. This is a library for libraries in Chicago which collects primary resources on a scale and at a depth which no one library in America could afford or would need to own on its own. We borrow materials from CRL for our patrons via Interlibrary Services. Their catalogue is on the internet. A number of sources on this bibliography in the MICROFORMS section are held there, not here at M.S.U. To find out what is in these sets, check the CRL online catalog.
Heritage of the Printed Book Database
Includes over 660,000 records for European printing of the hand-press period from the Consortium of European Research Libraries (CERL), whose 48 members represent national and university libraries in 25 countries, including North American libraries. This is the first and only online union catalog for European hand press books produced c1455 to 1830. The Consortium seeks to share resources and expertise between research libraries with a view to improving access to, as well as exploitation and preservation of the European printed heritage in the hand-press period (up to c. 1830). The Consortium was formed in 1992 on the initiative of research libraries in many European countries and legally came into being in June 1994.
Universal Short-Title Catalogue (USTC)
Universal Short-Title Catalogue (USTC) is a developing database of cataloging records for nearly 780,000 books printed/published throughout continental Europe from the beginning of printing on hand presses to 1650. The greatest numbers of entries are for items printed in the Holy Roman Empire and France. Many of the books described in the USTC are extremely rare; around 30% survive in only one located copy. The database also includes cataloging records for nearly 40,000 broadsheets, single sheet printed items. A project of the University of St. Andrews in Scotland in partnership with the U.K. Arts and Humanities Research Council, the British Academy, University College Dublin, and others, the database includes the library locations of these items, in some 8500 libraries, archives, and museums. Search by author, title, imprint, publisher, place, region, or format. Searches can be narrowed by broad subject area and/or language. This is not primarily a database of full texts. It is similar in function to the ESTC and today it does also include many entries for English imprints, with links to EEBO full texts.