LibGuides: Women in Medieval Society: Annual Bibliographies and Indexes to Articles

Annual Bibliographies and Indexes to Articles

Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Covers the disciplines of archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, world literature.
Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Iter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

The find text at MSU feature is enabled in this database. Look for the red button “check for full text” above the individual records in the database.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index, Covers articles from 1994 on from some 400 journals, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages (450-1500) in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East. Publications may be in English, French, German, Spanish or Italian (only since 2001). Excludes books by single authors (check our online catalog).

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. It helps to specify the journal discipline in the box near the bottom of the search screen; this helps to ensure that your search words will be used in the way you mean them to be. Hold down control and click as you scroll down to select one or disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will likely be 4-5 years old. Offers searching by topic keywords in title, abstract, or full text, author, etc., as well as browsing through full-text back files of journals. Includes full back run of Speculum, a key journal in medieval history. Best to use Advanced Search mode which requires choosing one or more disciplines of journals to go through; this helps ensure that your keywords will be used the way you mean them to be.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Years available vary by journal. Uses Library of Congress subject headings; the same scheme as used in our online catalog. Keyword searching also possible.

Irish History Online. A guide to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It currently contains approximately 72,000 bibliographic records (January 2011). Material on Northern Ireland is included. Includes bibliographic information on books and pamphlets, articles from journals published in Ireland or internationally, and chapters from books of essays, including Festschriften and conference proceedings.

Bibliographie Annuelle de l'Histoire de France du Cinquième Siècle à 1958, Main Z 2176 .B5. In French. The major annual bibliography of French history. Indexes both books and articles, French ones, but no annotations. See the chapter for Histoire Sociale. Within this chapter there is a section on la famille, la femme, et l'enfant containing a sub-section on le Moyen Âge. Probably also other useful sections for those with good French language skills.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Women in Medieval Society: Annual Bibliographies and Indexes to Articles

Annual Bibliographies and Indexes to Articles